PDA

View Full Version : Bulb longevity: power compact, NO, VHO.

BrainVat
01-09-2005, 05:47 AM
How long can I expect each of the following bulbs to last? I am buying from hellolights.com.

96W PC Actinic 36"
40W NO T12 Actinic 48"
110W VHO T12 Actinic 48"

Are any of these lights UV shielded? I would prefer that they are not.

StirCrazy
01-09-2005, 05:51 AM
How long can I expect each of the following bulbs to last? I am buying from hellolights.com.

96W PC Actinic 36"
40W NO T12 Actinic 48"
110W VHO T12 Actinic 48"

Are any of these lights UV shielded? I would prefer that they are not.

no UV output from them to worry about so no shielding.

Ok sense you are using them for actinic lighting only I would say change them every two years or when they burn out. No all the pet stores are going to be screaming murder at me right not but sense you are using them for "Color" the out put isn't important. I have been running on VHO for almost 3 years and the other for 1 year (one broke).

Oh one question, how are you buying them from hello lights when they do not ship to Canada?

Steve

BrainVat
01-09-2005, 06:18 AM
I was just using their web site for a price reference. Sounds like I won't be buying from them after all.

Samw
01-09-2005, 07:51 AM
I've got a 36" VHO Actinic bulb that's barely used that I'm looking to sell.

Oops, I guess you are looking for PC.

Rikko
01-09-2005, 08:18 AM
I guess technically *all* fluorescent bulbs are UV shielded. If the bulb is firing and there's no light coming out, that means there's no coating inside and it's pure UV coming off it. Er. Don't look at it. Just run away.