PDA

View Full Version : For anyone who's never tried it - Freeze Dried Cyclopeeze

albert_dao
12-23-2004, 08:34 AM
Okay, I've been using this stuff for just over two months now and here's my observations:

Fish that can see it go mad over it. I've not had a single fish (up until this one stupid purple tang) that refused it. I can't say much about color enhancement though, as most of my fish were pretty blindingly colorful to begin with.

Anyway, a big complaint I've seen all over the boards for the freeze dried stuff is that it has a tendency to float and get sucked in by overflows or stick to the glass at the surface of the water. My solution to this was to rehydrate small amounts of the Cyclopeeze in bottles filled with distilled water. 1 tspn to a small pop bottle worked out to about 2 days worth of feeding for my tanks and I've not had any problems with floating or fouling as long as it was kept in the fridge.

I find this product, using the above method, to be much more convenient to use then the frozen product (no more HUGE blocks of red chunks sitting in sandwich bags in your freezer + no more freezer burned Cyclopeeze = minuscular orgasm :biggrin: ) and more attractive to fish then the flake product.

5/5 - well worth the cost.

PS. Yeah... I think I'm going to review EVERY food item that I pick up from now on. Hope this is all helpful to anyone reading.

trilinearmipmap
12-23-2004, 04:55 PM
I like the FD cyclop-eeze and I agree with the floating problem.

I find it really makes corals open up for feeding especially my Sun Coral, it must be the scent of the Cyclop-eeze in the water.

I like the pre-hydration idea.

Actually I would like to rig up a system to have a container of water with the cyclop-eeze in it, and have some kind of continuous auto-feeder to slowly feed this into the tank.

Fish
12-23-2004, 06:07 PM
Is there any nutritional advantage of frozen over freeze dried? You would think that frozen would be fresher/better... ?