PDA

View Full Version : how to ship from states?

smokinreefer
12-08-2004, 04:46 PM
Hey guys,

first off i gotta say that i'm a shipping noob.

i want to buy some reef stuff from a dude in the states, whats the best way (*read* cheapest) to have it shipped here?

TIA.

muck
12-08-2004, 04:50 PM
USPS.

mr_alberta
12-08-2004, 04:56 PM
Yes, United States Postal Service. Its also the longest though (up to 3 weeks sometimes). Also, if he could declare the items as either "used goods" or as a "gift" then you might not have to pay brokerage or duty. Sometimes this works, sometimes it doesn't.

muck
12-08-2004, 05:26 PM
If you ask for 'USPS Airmail Parcel Post' (I believe that is what its called) it will be approx. 4 - 10 day delivery for not that much more $$$.
Ask your 'dude in the states' to get a quote for you or USPS has a calculator on their website.

http://ircalc.usps.gov/

Cheers! :cool:

dirtyreefer
12-08-2004, 07:04 PM
Setup a US address in Blaine or somewhere close to the border and have them ship there. Then go across and pick it up.

You save around $20CAD for every $100USD spent. So if you buy something for $500USD, you would have to pay around $100CAD duty. This way you save that additional cost.

Also, even though UPS has been getting a bad rap on RC, I find it very fast and cheap. One guy sent me a tunze steams package (10lbs) from Chicago to Sumas for $10USD and it came in 4 days.

USPS is a rip off and takes forever.

vjvl51
12-08-2004, 07:16 PM
dirtyreefer, the last time I ordered a $30 Cdn item from the US, UPS charged me over $20 brokerage fees and then I had to pay GST and COD charges on top of that. I don't agree that they are cheap - fast maybe. I have also had a parcel take a tour of the US and get to the border twice before crossing via UPS. Fortunately I wasn't in a hurry for it.

Purolator seems to be just as fast and has only charged me (so far) less than $10 in brokerage fees.

Just my experience

Vickie

dirtyreefer
12-08-2004, 09:13 PM