PDA

View Full Version : Aqua forest reef salt

1bigfish
08-11-2017, 09:05 PM
Who is using aqua forest reef salt and what is your thoughts about it?

kyl
08-11-2017, 09:13 PM
I switched from reef crystals, overall I'm happy:

Alk is pretty consistent between batches, hovering around 7.7-8, not the lottery that RC seemed to be. Boxes seem more readily available too, but their buckets are an odd size and the lid is kind of a pain to remove. There's also far less sludge/residue after mixing and storing it for a couple days, if that matters.

Some people are stating they've had cyano / dinoflagellate issues after switching, not entirely sure what would be causing that though.

spedly
08-11-2017, 09:14 PM
I've been using it for a couple of years. I really like it.

albert_dao
08-11-2017, 09:19 PM
I switched from reef crystals, overall I'm happy:

Alk is pretty consistent between batches, hovering around 7.7-8, not the lottery that RC seemed to be. Boxes seem more readily available too, but their buckets are an odd size and the lid is kind of a pain to remove. There's also far less sludge/residue after mixing and storing it for a couple days, if that matters.

Some people are stating they've had cyano / dinoflagellate issues after switching, not entirely sure what would be causing that though.

You can get cyano/dinos from trace element imbalances. I'm not saying it's endemic to the salt, but it's something that happens.

JamRobo
08-11-2017, 09:44 PM
Ive switched to af reef salt and had major cyano and dino issues. 2 water changes with instant ocean and dinos / cyano is gone and my corals arnt getting smothered anymore....

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

1bigfish
08-11-2017, 09:57 PM
I have been reading of a few people having diatom cyano problems with using aqua forest reef salt also. I just picked up 2 pails after reading a bunch of great reviews, and am now second guessing my choice.

DKoKoMan
08-12-2017, 12:00 AM