PDA

View Full Version : How would you do it? 120 Gallon from scratch

Mikey B
11-30-2004, 02:44 AM
Greetings everyone...I've really enjoyed the information and "entertainment" that you post on this site.
I'm just getting started on my first reef tank journey.
I have a 120 G (48x24x24) reef tank, a 50 G (36x18x18) sump, and a stand coming in a couple of weeks.
I've been reading and researching for weeks. If you were in my shoes and wanted to plan far ahead for any possible living addition to the tank, what would your set up look like? why would you do it that way? and where would you buy the components?
Maybe suggest the money-no-option route and the lets-be-reasonable route. Thank you in advance for any suggestions :eek:

Mike

Richer
11-30-2004, 04:10 AM
Mm... if I had a 120 gallon tank?

For starters, I'm a fan of lots of flow. The bigger the pump, the better. I also do not like sand in my tanks... so my setup will not work for a tank with a sand substrate without some tweaking. With that said, this will limit what you can keep. Basically all substrate living fish/inverts wouldn't be suggested. However, most other fish will do just fine.

Anyways, for the general look, I would put starboard on the bottom of the tank, and stack 120+lbs of LR, or LR+base rock depending on budget. As for aquascaping, I would try to minimize the amount of LR that is actually touching the starboard. This would make it easier for your water flow to remove detrius matter from underneath your rocks. I would probably light the tank with 2x250watt 10000k MH bulbs supplemented with 2x110watt superactinic VHO bulbs. That said, the tank would be a mix reef, with the more light demanding corals on the top half of the tank, and the less light demanding corals on the bottom half of the tank. Fish would include at least a pair of clowns (any species), and an algae blenny.