PDA

View Full Version : hammer coral regrowing from empty skeleton

lnk89
02-08-2017, 10:58 PM
So about 8 months ago I bought 2 hammer coral frags. One has done really well but the other started to die within a couple of weeks. Eventually all that was left of the hammer coral was a empty white skeleton. Since I am new to this saltwater keeping thing I decided to leave it in the tank to see what happens. And now it kinda looks like something is growing on it again. Is this possible?

I see something green sticking out the side of the skeleton and a bit of green at the bottom near the back of the skeleton. I have only noticed this within the last few weeks.

Has the coral started to regrow or has the other hammer coral spread?

Attached a crappy cell phone pic of the possible regrowth.

DKoKoMan
02-08-2017, 11:57 PM
May just be green hair algae growing in the skeleton due to the increase in nitrates and phosphates.

zhasan
02-09-2017, 07:02 AM
That's possible. It happened to a hammer I purchased few years back. It was fine then it died for no reason and I dumped the left over stem in the sump. 6 months later polyps started sprouting from the sides of it.

lnk89
02-09-2017, 07:56 PM
May just be green hair algae growing in the skeleton due to the increase in nitrates and phosphates.

I don't think it's hair algae. It looks different than the hair algae I have had previously. Also parts of it glow bright/fluorescent green under the blue lights. I have not seen any of the hair algae I have had in my tank do that before. Is there a kind that does?

That's possible. It happened to a hammer I purchased few years back. It was fine then it died for no reason and I dumped the left over stem in the sump. 6 months later polyps started sprouting from the sides of it.

Cool. that is about the same timeline I am on. And the possible new growth is beside the dead skeleton. I guess I will find out what it is when it grows.