PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Saying Hi and Question on Lighting

KTV
11-18-2004, 08:44 PM
Good day,
I just wanted to introduce myself as a newbie, I just started a 33 gallon salt water tank about 2 months ago. Been keeping freshwater tanks all my life and thought I'd try something new. The inhabitants are 2 Occellaris clows, some mushroom coral and a candy cane coral which I just acquired from a fella who recommended me this site.

I would like to get an Anenome for my Clowfish but heard that they're very hard to keep. I will probably be obtaining more corals soon and probably 1-2 more fish and a couple of shrimps. Nothing exotic, probably a tang or an anthias.

I do have a newbie question though. Right now I have a ugly 18watt coolwhite lamp in my canopy. I plan to upgrade very soon. I'm pretty sure I'm going to go with ~110W of Compact Flourescent. Most deffinately 2X55W bulbs as those will be the easiest for me to fit into the existing canopy.

However, I'm unsure as to what degree Kelvin I need for lights. Some of the reading I've done suggest that 6500K is perfectly fine while other sources say go with a 50/50 10000K and Actinic, and some say Actinic and 6500K. If someone can point me in the right direction that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
KV

bluetang
11-18-2004, 08:56 PM
I use two PC bulbs, a 10K and a attinic bulb and have no problem with the lighting.

Tarolisol
11-18-2004, 09:12 PM
Blue tangs got it right i have 10000k and actinic, Also dont you think a tang is not the right fish for a 33 gallon most tangs get over a foot long at least.

danny zubot
11-18-2004, 09:50 PM
Welcome to Canreef KV!
I will third the 10K and actinic as well. The info you have recieved about the tang is correct, I won't even put one in my 54 gallon tank. As for the anemone, try this link for some research material. It helped me a lot. :biggrin:
http://biodiversity.uno.edu/ebooks/intro.html

Danny

Buccaneer
11-18-2004, 11:01 PM