PDA

View Full Version : New Crocea clam help

dcw1sfu
07-18-2016, 09:19 PM
Hey bought a crocea clam and have never owned one before. It small and I have it on the sandbed trying to get it attach to a frag disk. I have dremmled out of the frag disk for it to sit in but over the course of a day it is off the disk sittin in the sand again. From my understanding these should not be sitting right in the sand. Any ideas on how to get this bugger to attach without moving?

I have now placed it in a small Tupperware on the frag disk hoping it attached. This a good idea?

dino
07-18-2016, 09:51 PM
I think it ok as long as you lighting is strong enough but I'm no expert on clams

dcw1sfu
07-18-2016, 09:54 PM
Lighting is very strong I actually have it in a little bit lower light right now to acclimate. I'm thinking it might be the flow that is not allowing it to attach so I turned down my flow in the tank for now. It was rocking back and forth on the frags plug in the Tupperware container. It's not swaying now.

Ryanerickson
07-19-2016, 01:02 AM
I have always kept clams in my sand bed with no issues at all I think people are worried about them being hurt in some way thru the foot by a worm or something.

davej
07-19-2016, 02:27 AM
Hey bought a crocea clam and have never owned one before. It small and I have it on the sandbed trying to get it attach to a frag disk. I have dremmled out of the frag disk for it to sit in but over the course of a day it is off the disk sittin in the sand again. From my understanding these should not be sitting right in the sand. Any ideas on how to get this bugger to attach without moving?

I have now placed it in a small Tupperware on the frag disk hoping it attached. This a good idea?

With the price of a clam being what it is, one of these seems a good investment!

http://www.jlaquatics.com/thrive-aquatics-clam-kit.html

Myka
07-19-2016, 02:42 AM