PDA

View Full Version : Dosing more Ca than Alk? Is this okay?

LeanneP
07-18-2016, 06:26 PM
I have been using your C-balance for a few years for my 90 gallon mixed reef that is about 5 years old. In the last 6 months or so I have been fighting to keep my calcium above 370. My alk is around 8.7. I am using kalk to keep my ph up and have also started dosing mg again. I decided to start dosing more calcium and it is now at 400 and my alk is still about 8.7. I am dosing almost double calcium to alkalinity. I know that I am supposed to dose equal parts so I am just wondering if this is going to throw my tank off? I don't have any precipitation on my pumps so I think that my tank is just using a lot more calcium. Is this possible?

Wheelman76
07-18-2016, 07:49 PM
As you know you need to dose equal parts of A and B when using C balance because the bottles contain more than just ALK and CAL and you can really throw off the balance. If you need to just raise the calcium to get back to a balanced level then you should use a product that is strictly calcium chloride. Once you get the calcium levels where you want then continue using the C balance in equal amounts. Have you tried letting your ALK drop and keep it slightly lower ? An alkalinity level of 8.0 dkh is balanced at 420 Calcium. I've always found I need to dose more ALK than Cal which I think is pretty common in most tanks. Another thing to check oat make sure your Calcium test kit is good. Btw what is your mag at ?

LeanneP
07-18-2016, 08:21 PM