PDA

View Full Version : Ice Cap KS-200 Protein Skimmer

spedly
04-02-2016, 05:44 PM
Yesterday I received my new Ice Cap KS-200 protein skimmer from Reef Supplies. The skimmer comes with a Sicce PSK-1000 pump. I've no experience with this pump but it comes highly rated.

The build quality is exceptional. The body is all PVC and high quality acrylic. It beats the pants off the Tunze skimmer it is replacing. It reminds me very much of Vertex in terms of quality and attention to detail.

It is amazingly compact for such a large skimmer. My sump area is quite cramped with only about 24" for height. The skimmer fits perfectly in the drain chamber of my Trigger Systems Ruby Elite sump with still lots of clearance to remove the cup. I was quite surprised - I thought that it would be a much tighter fit

Assembly was easy. It doesn't come with instructions however there is a video online to guide you through it. It took about 20 minutes to get everything together.

Operation seems very quiet but there is a noticeable hissing sound. I'm confident that it will quiet down considerably in the coming weeks after it breaks in. The small user guide that comes with it says it can take up to 4 weeks for it to break in.

Overall I'm very happy with my purchase. I feel that I got a lot of bang for my buck. It looks really nice in my sump. Hopefully it lasts a long, long time.

theokie
04-03-2016, 01:38 PM
Glad to see that some people are giving these skimmers a chance. On paper they sound awesome, so much so that I am really tempted to phase out a few of my other ones as the advertised airdraw to power draw is unrivaled.

Is there any chance you have access to a kill-a-watt or similar to see what its actual power draw is?

spedly
04-03-2016, 04:55 PM
Glad to see that some people are giving these skimmers a chance. On paper they sound awesome, so much so that I am really tempted to phase out a few of my other ones as the advertised airdraw to power draw is unrivaled.