PDA

View Full Version : What do you want out or a club?

Troy F
01-27-2002, 01:53 PM
I might as well start this off. If everyone could just follow suit and give your interpretation of what you want out of a local reef club.

First and foremost, I'd like to see a membership fee and fundraising with the main intent of bringing in a prominent figure in the hobby, scientific field or industry to lecture. I see this as a very viable possibility. Ron Shimek, Rob Toonen, Eric Borneman, Charles Delbeek, Richard Harker, Dana Riddle, Jerel ? etc. would be considerable speakers.

Another reason to collect dues would be to operate the club at a slightly more advanced level. We could use posters and other such advertisements to increase our exposure to hobbyists outside the club.

I think we need an elected body to run the club. I'm not an expert in governing assemblies but I'd think we'd need a treasurer, chairperson, vice-president and president. I think the membership should vote on the positions and anyone intersted in a position should/could step forward in this post. Don't be shy images/smiles/icon_smile.gif . I don't think the president and vice-president positions should both come from one side of the pond. I think both areas should have representation. The people in these positions would be responsible for organizing events according to the wishes of the club members. Most important in all of the above is that I will hold VETO power images/smiles/icon_wink.gif .

Continued sharing of ideas, frags, war stories and etc.

The January meeting at Victor's showed how big a club we have. I can think of five people that weren't there and I'm sure you each can think of other people that didn't make it. The possibilities are very open to whatever we decide.

PS: I swear I didn't make a typo in the title http://jabot2000.homestead.com/files/emoticons/shh.gif, there must be something wrong with the BB.

[ 27 January 2002: Message edited by: Troy F ]</p>

reefburnaby