PDA

View Full Version : New WTB: Startup 250 Gallon needs Corals, Fish, Invert

Vandowntownreef
01-12-2016, 02:32 AM
Have a 6 month old tank that is finally ready.

I am downtown and am looking for unique large colony corals, large fish and inverts that are unique.

As I am fairly new to the industry, your honesty is appreciated on if it will be reef safe.

please text 604 338 74 seven seven with what you have.

SeaHorse_Fanatic
01-12-2016, 03:28 AM
As a newbie, it's probably better to get your "feet wet" with lps (Large Polyp Stony corals) and softies before you tackle the harder to keep sps (Small Polyp Stony) corals. LPS include hammers/frogspawn/torch, brains, candycane/trumpet, scolymias, cynarias, bubbles. Softies include toadstools, leathers, mushrooms and zoanthids.

As for Reef Safe fish, in general Tangs and Rabbitfish are RS that also help by eating algae. Most gobies, blennies, cardinalfish, jawfish and many wrasses (fairy, flasher, canary, leopard) are RS although the first two family of wrasses are notorious jumpers and need a covered tank. RS also has multiple meanings. Hawkfish, for instance, are RS when it comes to corals but may snack on your shrimp and hermit crabs. Butterflyfish and larger (even some dwarf) angelfish are generally non-reefsafe cause they tend to nibble on corals.

Hope that helps.

Anthony

Vandowntownreef
01-12-2016, 03:38 AM
does help, yes, interested in everything new and old

spit.fire
01-12-2016, 03:48 AM
what kind of lighting do you have?

Vandowntownreef
01-12-2016, 04:06 AM
the latest. Tank was custom ordered, bow front. All the best equipment on the market.

She's a beauty and am very excited. Will post a pic

SeaHorse_Fanatic
01-12-2016, 04:07 AM
What spitfire meant was do you have LEDs, Metal Halides, T5s, etc.?

I'm hosting a local reefers' BBQ/Get-together this Saturday at my place in Burnaby. If you're interested, look through the thread in the Lower Mainland subforum