PDA

View Full Version : Remote controlled outlets!


Myka
01-12-2016, 03:12 AM
Yeah, cool find by ReefBuilders! https://www.facebook.com/reefbuilders/?fref=nf

Etekcity wireless remote controlled outlets come in a 1-pack (http://www.amazon.ca/Etekcity-Wireless-Electrical-Household-Appliances/dp/B00YTYNM76/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1452568153&sr=8-4&keywords=etekcity+wireless), 3-pack (http://www.amazon.ca/Etekcity%C2%AE-Wireless-Control-Battery-included/dp/B00DQ2KGNK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1452568123&sr=8-2&keywords=etekcity+wireless), or 5-pack (http://www.amazon.ca/Etekcity-Wireless-Electrical-Household-Appliances/dp/B00DQELHBS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1452567893&sr=8-1&keywords=etekcity+wireless) from $15.99-39.99 on Amazon.ca and free shipping. Score!

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/718ojl24a-L._SY355_.jpg

Aquattro
01-12-2016, 03:46 AM
Good price. Canadian Tire has them for $25. Pretty useful for water changes.

Myka
01-12-2016, 03:55 AM
Good price. Canadian Tire has them for $25. Pretty useful for water changes.

How many in the pack at CT? Water changes is exactly what I was thinking. I was going to buy an Apex this winter, but now I'm going to Philippines, and that killed the Apex fund.

Aquattro
01-12-2016, 04:16 AM
Single unit with 2 outlets and remote. My LFS used one for years, really handy device.

Myka
01-12-2016, 04:21 AM
Yeah, I'm definitely going to try it out. All my equipment is on a couple of those DJ powerbars though, I don't have anything but the lights plugged into a wall outlet.

SeaHorse_Fanatic
01-12-2016, 05:17 AM
I love those powerbars too that have the individual switches. Comes in really handy at waterchange time. Got mine from at Lee Valley years ago and they're still going strong.

kien
01-12-2016, 06:01 AM
I've been using the Canadian tire two outlet one for 6 years now. Pretty much since my tank started. This gadget alone has helped to keep this tank going! I use it to remotely pump water out of my sump down into my basement drain as well as pumping NSW and fresh ATO out of my basement reservoirs up to the main floor. I can't imagine doing this with buckets or manually plugging and unplugging :lol:

xenon
01-12-2016, 02:44 PM
Make sure when the power goes out and comes back on, that they also come on.

I've tried other brands and they default to "off" after an outage.

DiscusZ
01-12-2016, 03:19 PM
Problem with those outlets they default off if there is a power outage I have 3 of them so only use them for my water change system and my mixing station


Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk

kien
01-12-2016, 03:31 PM
it definitely depends on your application for these. My canadian tire ones default to off and for me that's a good thing! Sometimes I forget to disconnect the water change or ATO hose from the reservoir after I've remotely (with the remote control) turned it off. I then turn off the power bar that they are connect to. If they were defaulted to ON whenever I turned on their powerbar I would have a real mess on my hands :lol:

But then, in other applications for these you may want them to come on. :noidea:

mike31154
01-13-2016, 01:23 AM
They look a bit clunky, do they cover the second outlet when you plug them in?

There's some much cooler stuff available these days with regard to home automation, outlets, switches etc. Controllable via smart phone, tablet & I would think any PC or notebook as well. Some light bulbs now have built in wifi,.... speakers even. Paired with your router you can control them when you're away. Kind of makes some of the features provided by aquarium controllers redundant.

It's still a bit pricey, but I'm sure that will change given a bit of time. The ball is only now really starting to roll with this stuff. I'll hold out a little longer before jumping on the bandwagon. Outlets are now available to replace your regular jobs in wall, similar to installing a gfci.

https://www.ubnt.com/mfi/inwall/

http://www.lifx.com/

Myka
01-13-2016, 01:34 AM
Default to "OFF" is no good! :(

Good call Mike. There is really no limit to options these days.

RMC
01-13-2016, 05:01 AM
This is what I use for water changes, same concept but designed for outdoor use (hopefully a greater resistance to water than a standard device).

http://www.amazon.ca/Woods-32555-Weatherproof-Outdoor-Converter/dp/B001Q9EFUK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1452660950&sr=8-1&keywords=Woods+remote+outlet

mike31154
01-13-2016, 05:53 AM
Default to "OFF" is no good! :(

Good call Mike. There is really no limit to options these days.

Default to off for temporary use devices like this may well be mandatory due to code/safety requirements. Similar idea to GFCI. Permanently installed in wall GFCI outlets will be live when power is restored after an outage whereas a GFCI power bar will need to be reset. All well & good provided you know how your chosen device functions so you are aware of consequence for your application.

Ginu
01-28-2016, 10:41 PM
I use a similar device for my RO Buddy (smart booster pump/controller on RODI) and does a good job, dont have to walk outside and in the shed to shut it off.