PDA

View Full Version : How's the hobby in the Ottawa area?

Nuggs
01-11-2016, 01:25 AM
Moving to Ottawa in the summer.

Wondering in there are any reef societies? And what's it got for shops?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Nuggs
01-21-2016, 09:39 PM
Bump

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

rockworm
01-21-2016, 11:34 PM
There use to be an active society, but it seems pretty quiet now. I was out of the marine hobby for a couple years, so it may be active, but I am out of the loop.

There are 2 main shops. One is Marinescape, the second is Aqua Valley. There is also a couple Big Al's chain stores that carry some marine goods and livestock.

Ward

Tooboot
09-30-2016, 07:15 PM
I'm just getting into the hobby and was wondering the same. just about 1h away from Ottawa. there are a couple within a 2h drive (Kingston and Montreal) but that's all I know of know.

If ever you are fragging anything let me know, as I start adding coral I'll be looking around.

Nuggs
09-30-2016, 08:38 PM
I'm down in Chesterville.

Looks like there are only two shops in Ottawa proper.

Haven't got anything in yet. Still cycling started with dead rock.

Nuggs
09-30-2016, 08:57 PM
Double post

Tooboot
10-01-2016, 04:34 AM
Yep, me too. Weekly checks on nitrates and amonia, looks like I may be good in a week or two. There's a guy in Kingston with lots of stuff. The store on carling looks pretty good, and the big as east was revamping their marine setup last I was there with a whole new frag section and larger selection. I can't comment on the health of anything since I have out anything in myself.

looneeii
10-02-2016, 07:08 PM
There's 4-5 in the Ottawa-Gatineau area.

1. Aquavalley - East
2. Marinescape - West
3. Big Al's - East and West
4. La Niche - Gatineau
5. Ultanimal - Aylmer

Go a bit further down the 401 and you'll find Crazy 4 Corals. They also come up to Rideau Carleton Raceway on Sundays so order ahead.

As for the folks,