PDA

View Full Version : Converting a maxi jet 1200 for pump on calcium reactor


LeanneP
01-07-2016, 09:38 PM
I have purchased a maxi jet to use as my pump for my calcium reactor but I have only found one sight that explains how to convert it and I am a little confused This is the article:

"Finally, the best way I have found that provides good effluent flow stability for the money is to feed the reactor by using a power head. A Maxi-Jet 1200 seems to be well suited to do so.

You can connect the reactor inlet line to the discharge of the power head in a couple of different ways.

First, it is important to notice that the power head is designed to pump a lot more water than what the reactor will require so the small volume of water will not provide for proper cooling of the power head and the increase in temperature will promote calcium carbonate precipitation in the power head shaft eventually ceasing the pump rotor and getting it stuck.


To prevent this and also in the interest of providing a more stable pressure in the inlet, I recommend providing an outlet for part of the water so it returns back to the sump thus creating more flow through the power head. To do this is rather simple.

Instead of connecting your feed line directly to the power head outlet, connect the line to the coupling that comes with the power head, the one that has a hole originally to be used for the injection of air to the power head, then just insert the coupling to the power head outlet. For further reference, this is the cylindrical coupling that support the fan like piece used to redirect the power head flow. Remove the fan like piece; cut away the two little pins that support the fan like piece and you will have it ready to insert a hose into it.

You can also use a tap to thread the inside of the coupling and install a John Guest connector to attach a poly line to it. (see picture 13)."

I have the John Guest connector they talk about so I am assuming that is where the feed line for the calcium reactor goes into. But they talk about too much flow so I am wondering if I should just take the plug out from where the air line would go so the extra flow goes there? Is that enough flow reduction?
Also there is nothing to thread to on the coupling so I was wondering if I can silicone the pieces together with aquarium silicone?
Thanks for any help or suggestions.
Leanne

Aquattro
01-07-2016, 10:55 PM
Honestly, it would probably be easier to splice in a JG valve on your return line and feed the reactor with that.

LeanneP
01-07-2016, 11:08 PM
Honestly, it would probably be easier to splice in a JG valve on your return line and feed the reactor with that.

I already tried that. I was getting too much air in the line and the flow wasn't consistent.

Aquattro
01-07-2016, 11:18 PM
Where does the air come from? Shouldn't be any air in the return line or your tank would be full of bubbles!

LeanneP
01-07-2016, 11:25 PM
Okay, actually, I had it plumbed into the line going from sump to the chiller. I put a T in the line. Would it make a difference which one it was in? There was air coming in from somewhere. I am definitely not a plumber so I figured a pump might be easier

Aquattro
01-07-2016, 11:52 PM
Chiller line should work as well. I can't see where air is getting in, unless the pump intake is right beside the skimmer output. I use my return line and no air gets in at all. A pump could work, but I'd get a small pond pump over a maxijet. Either way, you'll need to rig up some connection to the pump.

iamfrontosa
01-08-2016, 05:07 AM
I am also using a maxi jet 1200 to feed my calcium reactor .. I like the extra flow in the sump that the maxi jet gives out.

iamfrontosa
01-08-2016, 05:24 AM
I used the plumbing glue to connect the feed line to the power head air line slot (seems to be holding well so far); I also added a valve to regulate the amount of flow into the feed line and, If I need to clean the power head, I can just disconnect here. On the powerhead outlet end, I used a clear vinyl tube with another valve. I am not at home right now, otherwise, I would take a picture how I got mine done.

LeanneP
01-08-2016, 06:52 AM
I used the plumbing glue to connect the feed line to the power head air line slot (seems to be holding well so far); I also added a valve to regulate the amount of flow into the feed line and, If I need to clean the power head, I can just disconnect here. On the powerhead outlet end, I used a clear vinyl tube with another valve. I am not at home right now, otherwise, I would take a picture how I got mine done.

Thanks Ian. So just to clarify, you are using the smaller hole for the feed line to the ca reactor. It seems like it would be easier to use the larger powerhead outlet for the reactor line because I already have the fitting for it but I am guessing then there would be too much flow and pressure? Good idea about using the valves to regulate the flow. Are you just using regular plumbing glue? Thanks for your help. I wasn't thinking of valves so that answers my question about regulating the flow. Wish me luck as this has been never ending to setting up this reactor. Everything seems to have gone wrong. Thanks again.

mike31154
01-08-2016, 05:45 PM
I realize you already have the maxijet, but thought it worth mentioning I use an AquaClear powerhead (similar to maxijet) to feed my skimmer. The AquaClears have a lever at the intake side that allows you to regulate the output. Not sure it could be throttled down enough for your purpose, but would certainly keep the plumbing situation simpler, which is usually a good thing. Similar price as a maxijet, so not a huge investment if you can find one.

iamfrontosa
01-09-2016, 05:37 AM
Thanks Ian. So just to clarify, you are using the smaller hole for the feed line to the ca reactor. It seems like it would be easier to use the larger powerhead outlet for the reactor line because I already have the fitting for it but I am guessing then there would be too much flow and pressure? Good idea about using the valves to regulate the flow. Are you just using regular plumbing glue? Thanks for your help. I wasn't thinking of valves so that answers my question about regulating the flow. Wish me luck as this has been never ending to setting up this reactor. Everything seems to have gone wrong. Thanks again.

Yep. Smaller hole (ones supposed to be for air intake) for the feed line. I just use a regular plumbing glue for PVC pipe. The powerhead outlet would be too much for a feed line. I was always worried that the feed line would come off, but so far so good. if I have to do it all again, I would probably use a Heat Shrinkable Sleeve in addition for extra measure.

I use the valve on the powerhead outlet end to control the actual flow to the feed line, and valve on the feed line to tweak actual flow (drip rate or ml/min). Having two valves make things easier.

For my specific system, I am running Co2 at 35 bubble/min. Flow rate at 50 ml/min. I have a Vertex Rx-6D. My system is ~150gallons. Medium stock with mostly SPSs. My water always runs stable at 125ppm / 7dkH.

iamfrontosa
01-09-2016, 06:57 AM
Correction: I used effluent flow control that comes with Rx-c 6d to control drip rate. And the valve on the feed line to fine tune water going into the calcium reactor. Its been awhile since I had to touch my calcium reactor.

PH 6.5 CaribSea ARM Coarse media.

Hopefully this help.

LeanneP
01-09-2016, 05:53 PM
Thanks for the info. Just wondering how I figure out how much flow to put into the reactor? If I am only having the drip rate at say 35 per min like you are, are you only adding that much to the reactor? If you add more, where does the excess water go?

iamfrontosa
01-10-2016, 03:33 AM
I am no expert by any means.:redface:
When I set mine up with a maxi jet 1200, I started out with a slow flow. You don't really need a lot of flow to feed a calcium reactor. If you want to maintain your effluent at 35ml/min, your source water should be able to feed atleast that much. If not, just open up the valve more on your maxi jet's feed line; or close the valve on the output end. On mine, I have enough feed water to go up to 120mL/min. But I am using effluent flow valve to restrict to 50ml/min. I think too much source water will cause high pressure to a calcium reactor unit.

You want to start slow. Get your effluent flow stable before turn on the Co2.
It is actually pretty easy once you start hooking and running it.

LeanneP
01-11-2016, 03:05 AM
Thanks for the info. I will give it a try Wed. when I have some time to play around with it.