PDA

View Full Version : Advice on IM Nano 8 Light Upgrade

Itsy Bitsy Fishy
12-25-2015, 11:57 PM
Hi, I'm new to Canreef and this is my first post.

I have an Innovative Marine Nano 8 gal tank set up for about 1.5 yrs and looking to upgrade the lighting. Existing 8w LEDs are OK for soft corals, but my RBTA seems a little pale. I also want to try raising some SPS. Is the AquaRay miniLED 500 suitable for my needs? It's on sale at J&L.

Any advice is appreciated. Merry Christmas!

shiftline
12-26-2015, 12:37 AM
I would look at the AI prime for a smaller tank

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

FishyFishy!
12-26-2015, 01:37 AM
If you can afford an AI prime, they are great, but if price is a concern, I have great nano success using the rapid LED Par38 full spectrum LED bulbs. Good choice for a smaller tank, cheap and they screw into a regular bulb socket.

And again, if price isnt an option, you can always try nanobox LED's. They are pretty dang nice, but you sure to pay for them.

Same goes for a Kessil a160we. Great fixture, but expensive for a nano fixture.

Oh...and that aquaray will leave you dissapointed
Its more white light than anything. Probably better suited for a freshwater tank or refugium.

FishyFishy!
12-26-2015, 02:02 AM
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c38/bilmaga/Mobile%20Uploads/2015-12-25%2019.50.03_zpsrefxpk7g.png (http://s24.photobucket.com/user/bilmaga/media/Mobile%20Uploads/2015-12-25%2019.50.03_zpsrefxpk7g.png.html)

You can buy these at reefsupplies.ca pretty cheap

Itsy Bitsy Fishy
12-26-2015, 06:31 AM
If you can afford an AI prime, they are great, but if price is a concern, I have great nano success using the rapid LED Par38 full spectrum LED bulbs. Good choice for a smaller tank, cheap and they screw into a regular bulb socket.

And again, if price isnt an option, you can always try nanobox LED's. They are pretty dang nice, but you sure to pay for them.

Same goes for a Kessil a160we. Great fixture, but expensive for a nano fixture.