PDA

View Full Version : Hi, Newbie Here, In Planning and Research Stage

TripleT
09-05-2015, 08:57 PM
Been doing lots of reading and planning for a noob reef setup.
Have read thru Christy's 180 Build and have lots of questions. So here I go:

plans include 90g tank, sump and 20g refugium - what size should sump be?
Looking at Octopus 150SS or similar skimmer
No idea as to what pump to use, or flow rates to achieve.
Would like to have sand bed, so, is use of egg crate to stabilize base imperative?
Led lighting with appropriate controllers.
What heater(s) to use?

That's it so far. I have bred cichlids in the past and had two successful tanks years ago. And as addictions go, this one is pretty healthy!

Also, how effective would the refugium keep algae growths non-existent. I have read that a lot of blooms happen that need chems and treatments that seem to be rather daunting at this point.

Thanks for the forum,
Terry

WarDog
09-06-2015, 07:43 AM
Hi Terry, welcome to Canreef!

Are you planning a sump in the stand, or a remote location?

TripleT
09-06-2015, 04:44 PM
It all depends on which room I will be able to commandeer...:biggrin:
Also, it depends on when my grown children are going to move out. For the second time! :question: As this would free up two rooms in the house and my wife could move her sewing room back to her sewing room This timeline will give me enough planning time to collect all parts. Only problem is that I have no room to store anything right now, the basement is full of furniture and boxes.:pout:

Am I correct in planning a 30g sump for a 90g tank? Or is that too small?
Initially, the sump was going to be part of the refugium, however, I like the idea of a separate sump external from the aquarium and stand.

The refugium will be in the stand.

I'm thinking that this will give me the external access to add reactors and qtank at a later date. (if needed)

Enough rambling for now!
Cheers....

intarsiabox
09-06-2015, 05:20 PM