PDA

View Full Version : Foz Down vs: GFO

The Guy
06-15-2015, 06:37 PM
Anyone using Foz-down rather than GFO?
Comments------:smile:

Reeferluke
06-15-2015, 06:53 PM
I have been using it for about 6 months. I dose it in my top up it works fantastic. I doubt I will ever go back to gfo

lastlight
06-15-2015, 06:59 PM
if you're considering switching for the savings, you might be interested in this:

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1838961&highlight=gfo+on+the+cheap

i've been using recharged gfo for a few months now and it's working great. just need to use and store the lye safely.

Aquattro
06-15-2015, 07:04 PM
I use fozdown, no interest in using GFO, so can't compare.

theokie
06-15-2015, 07:08 PM
I use a combo, I use a doser to dose small amounts of fozdown every two hours and I also use GFO to help keep my levels down as well... using the combo has given me nice results.

whatcaneyedo
06-16-2015, 03:52 AM
I have been doing well on under $80 a year for GFO in what is now a 300gal system (formerly 240gal). For those that use Foz down, what is your cost relative to system size?

Aquattro
06-16-2015, 03:55 AM
I'm not even sure what I pay for it, and only add adhoc right now. I have a doser to set up, and will dose daily, but I'd guess more than 80/yr. For me, I just don't want more gear in the sump, and the doser will handle other stuff as well.

George
06-16-2015, 05:09 AM
what's in foz down (as in what's its active ingredient)?

Wheelman76
06-16-2015, 05:13 AM
what's in foz down (as in what's its active ingredient)?

Lanthanum Chloride

George
06-16-2015, 05:57 AM
Lanthanum Chloride

thanks! that's what I thought.
I have been following LaCl in other sites for some time now. The only thing that prevents me from using it to control Phosphate is some people report of their fish (especially tangs) being irritated by LaCl or the precipitation. Does any one notice this issue?

Aquattro
06-16-2015, 06:00 AM