PDA

View Full Version : Fabricating steel stand - which steel do I buy?

Myka
05-09-2015, 04:58 PM
Ok, so steel is definitely not my forte. I used to be a carpenter by trade, now I'm a true reef junkie. :lol: Anyway, it suddenly dawned on me that hubby has a welder and knows how to weld. :redface: I'm pretty sure 1" square steel tube is plenty for my 36" long 69-gallon tank, but before I go buy the wrong thing, is there a wall thickness or a gauge or a particular name-type I'm looking for? Or is it just a standard thing?

I sent Grizz a PM yesterday. He hasn't replied yet, and I'd like to go get this stuff today.

WarDog
05-09-2015, 05:29 PM
I used inch and a half with a 3/16th wall thickness on my 65. Overkill to be sure. The thing could hold a tank. My stand however, does not have a centre brace on the front, so I wanted to be sure. Check my build for pics if you're interested. Too bad the Grizz hasn't chimed in. I would recommend no thinner than 3/16.

spit.fire
05-09-2015, 06:23 PM
IMO 1.25" x .100 or .125 wall is ideal, no big ugly radius on the corners yet strong enough to hold up a car

Myka
05-09-2015, 09:13 PM
I used inch and a half with a 3/16th wall thickness on my 65. Overkill to be sure. The thing could hold a tank. My stand however, does not have a centre brace on the front, so I wanted to be sure. Check my build for pics if you're interested. Too bad the Grizz hasn't chimed in. I would recommend no thinner than 3/16.

Ok thanks. I don't want it to be overkill. :lol: I want as much room under the sump as possible, even 1/2" would make a difference for me. There really should be no need for a center post along a 36" length, and I'm certainly not game for that.

IMO 1.25" x .100 or .125 wall is ideal, no big ugly radius on the corners yet strong enough to hold up a car

Hmm, maybe the stands I've been looking at aren't 1" like I thought. I suppose maybe they are bigger than that now that I think of it. Thank you.

JmeJReefer
05-09-2015, 09:21 PM