PDA

View Full Version : Fusion 40 or 30L for complete beginner

Bodasifa
04-24-2015, 12:45 AM
I am brand new to marine aquariums and was looking at buying either a Fusion 40 or 30L. Is one better over the other for a complete beginner. I am leaning towards the 40 as it will have a greater front to back depth where i could keep my LR towards the rear and have more open space up front . I have done so much reading on keeping a salt water tank my brain is staring to hurt. any recommendations for a complete beginner is appreciated

Trigger Man
04-24-2015, 01:57 AM
I always go as big as I can, I find the larger the more stable I can keep it, and it opens up more stocking options in the future.

Bodasifa
04-26-2015, 02:17 PM
well after going out to King Ed Pets and seeing the 30L in person i think that is the way i am going to go now. Looks so much nicer with a longer tank. Now to decide on lighting

bleevin
04-27-2015, 04:21 AM
How much were they asking for the 30L?

Bodasifa
05-06-2015, 10:27 PM
$399.00 , but i'm sure they will go a little lower. He wants to get rid of them. They currently have 5 in stock as of today

gobytron
05-06-2015, 10:40 PM
I have noticed that their display at the front of the store has gradually gone from having sps, to lps, to now where there is just a few softies and some duncans...

So that light is really not cutting it for any corals.

I was interested in the 20 myself but felt that the light needed to be at least decent for the value to be there so i was popping in here and there to gauge the progress.

Ron has been adamant that it is just because he wanted to redo it a couple of times and had nothing to do with the light but I'm fairly sure the light just can't support much.

You can get an RSM130d with lots of goodies for around 400 bucks used....maybe even less (I paid 200 recently for a fully stocked one with live rock and a reek keeper lite, fish and coral).

bleevin
05-07-2015, 07:27 PM