PDA

View Full Version : LF basic Controller - Temp. GVRD

maron6977
03-12-2015, 01:41 AM
Hi, I'm new to controllers . Just want one to run my temp. Gets too cold runs heater (poss. 2) & too hot will run fan or chiller. Don't want to spend a ton & don't need all the whistles & bells . Just something accurate & works .
Open to suggestions if anyone reads this & has input .
Thanks Mark

mkj
03-12-2015, 06:02 AM
no controller needed if only for heaters and chiller. They have built in temp control.

But, if you really must have a controller then a simple Apex Junior will suffice for what you want.. Controller is a waste of money for just keeping temps.

CM125
03-12-2015, 02:30 PM
http://www.aqualogicinc.com/products/temp_controllers/

Comes in dual stage, good for running heaters and fans with no temp sensor. Should be under $200.

davej
03-12-2015, 02:54 PM
Controller is a waste of money for just keeping temps.

I completely disagree.
If you have a fair sum of money invested in your tank inhabitants, be it fish, plants or corals. A controller is a fantastic investment.
I have more than one and would recommend a reefkeeper lite, you can usually pick one up used for around $100. I has a four outlet powerbar, the power on all four are switchable and controlled by the parameters you choose. You can have your heater plugged into one and it will come on when your temp drops below the set point. You can have a fan in another that will come on if tank temp gets above your set point as well. Still leaving two outlets for lighting control or whatever you choose.The programming is dead simple.
Good luck

CM125
03-12-2015, 03:16 PM
I completely disagree.
If you have a fair sum of money invested in your tank inhabitants, be it fish, plants or corals. A controller is a fantastic investment.