PDA

View Full Version : Problem with corals

Azilla
09-18-2004, 01:29 AM
Hey i need some help im gettin a funny alge on my green stars it just started last night they where out in full force now they stay in. Kinda worried also my fingure leather went all white colored here are some pics.

www.phatkids.net/tank/pic1.jpg
www.phatkids.net/tank/pic2.jpg
www.phatkids.net/tank/pic3.jpg
www.phatkids.net/tank/pic4.jpg

Im a lil worried that its that Dino alge that everyone talks about. :cry:

Beverly
09-18-2004, 01:50 AM
I'm no expert, but the algae in the first pic looks a little like cyanobacteria. Have you tried turkey basting your corals? If so, what was the result? Also, how strong is the water flow on the coral in the second pic? If it is on the low side, increasing flow might be helpful. Other than that, I hope folks with more expertise than I will offer opinions.

Quinn
09-18-2004, 02:13 AM
I agree it is almost certainly cyanobacteria. I had good luck with increasing flow like Bev said, increasing skimming and cutting down on feeding. I feel that basting it may in fact hasten its spread, try it and see what happens.

Bob I
09-18-2004, 02:41 AM
Quinn is right it is probably Cyano, but I have found increasing flow will NOT help. Turkeybasting is also ineffective. Over the years I have found Cyano to be part of the natural maturing process of a tank. If you can't live with it, you might use Chemiclean. I found it to highly effective. :biggrin:

Seamonkey
09-18-2004, 02:51 AM
I had the unfortunate luck to get cyanobacteria in my reeftank once. No matter what I did, water changes, turkey basting, sucking it out, it just got worse and worse. I was ready to tear the tank down. I used a product called maracyn (eurethroymycin) and it cleared up the problem within 3 treatments. (In my tank it did not harm any of the soft corals, fish or inverts that I had) and I have never had this problem again.