PDA

View Full Version : LF: Corals for science! - Calgary

Youngster Dan
02-05-2015, 07:17 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm doing my masters thesis at U of C looking at how lunar light cues breeding behaviours in corals and echinoderms. I'm setting up my experimental tank now, but I wanted to gauge if anyone has some colony sized A.millepora or Montipora spp that they would be willing to part with. They don't have to be pretty! So, if there is some real estate that you want to free up in your tank shoot me a message and we can negotiate a price.

I will be using these species to look at changes in genetic expression during artificial moon cycles. - So, hopefully they will aid in our understanding of these cool animals.

Also, if anyone has any pesky sea cucumbers, urchins, sea stars or brittle stars shoot me a message as I would be interested in them as well!

SeaHorse_Fanatic
02-05-2015, 08:09 PM
Good luck with your experiment.

May I suggest expanding your search to include Cat's Paw coral (especially Pocillipora sp.) since I know these have a history of spawning in captivity and colonizing people's tanks (ask Brad - Aquattro).

riceboy
02-05-2015, 08:21 PM
I can give u a large red monti cap I can frag when ever

Youngster Dan
02-05-2015, 08:30 PM
Good luck with your experiment.

May I suggest expanding your search to include Cat's Paw coral (especially Pocillipora sp.) since I know these have a history of spawning in captivity and colonizing people's tanks (ask Brad - Aquattro).

They are cool how they can spawn in tanks! That said, I kind of want to avoid Pocillopora spp as I know some produce parthenogenic larvae (which is absolutely fascinating). Basically, the coral has the ability to asexually make larvae without getting busy with a different coral. That extra element makes my brain hurt, and I don't want to have to think about it - so I want to stick with corals that reproduce the ol' fashioned way. :biggrin:

Youngster Dan
02-05-2015, 08:31 PM