PDA

View Full Version : How much GFO?

duncangweller
01-31-2015, 02:37 AM
Hi all,

I have been doing a lot of reading about GFO recently and I have been struggling to find a rule as far as how much to use.

I have been having algae issues of late and seem to have a constant brown film on my sand bed which is driving me nuts.

I have been running carbon and GFO in a BRS dual reactor for a couple of years and have always followed the BRS calculator, but it seems like it asks for a lot of both for a 90g tank.

Some sites have mentioned that the amounts that BRS recommends are way off base, so I'm curious as to what rules you follow.

How much do you use per gallon (or whatever measurement you use)?

I have also been vodka/vinegar dosing but nothing seems to be happening to my levels, and in the last few days a couple of my corals have started looking a bit pale. Others still look great.

jason604
01-31-2015, 03:30 AM
Go for about 1/2-1" in the canister of Gfo. I put too much my first time using it my tank crashed.

Slyguy00
01-31-2015, 04:05 AM
I would agree with Jason. Start off slow and just work your way up. I bleached my sps the first time I added Rowa. 1 1/2 - 2" should be ok to start with. Just start slow and monitor your phosphates.

duncangweller
01-31-2015, 04:09 AM
It's finny you both say that as I went with the BRS calculator for the last two years and ive been using almost two cups of the stuff.

Slyguy00
01-31-2015, 04:11 AM
holy! lol thats alot. I never trust that BRS calculator. When i first started using it I always did half of what it recommended. Now that I know what my tank consumes, I dont even use it anymore.

jason604
01-31-2015, 05:36 AM
What? 2 cups for a 90g?!! That's massive. Mybe they want u to crash so u can buy a whole new system from them lol

gregzz4
01-31-2015, 06:07 AM
The BRS calculator states I should use .86 cups for my system.
That's about 225mls.
I've been battling algae for over a year and decided to back off my GFO amount.