PDA

View Full Version : Apex and Pinpoint PH probe


Treebeard
01-27-2015, 07:28 PM
I needed a new PH probe and had a gift certificate to local fish store but all they had was a Pinpoint. He assured me that it would work but from what I have googled results have been mixed. Does anyone have any experience with using the Pinpoint with an Apex controller? I have not used it yet and can still return it.

shrimp
01-27-2015, 08:26 PM
I use pinpoint with apex no problem.

Doug
01-27-2015, 09:56 PM
I also use Pinpoint. No problem.

reeferfulton
01-27-2015, 10:39 PM
i have a pinpoint in my Ca reactor hooked to apex .. No probs

andestang
01-27-2015, 10:48 PM
Don't they need a USB adapter ? I went to buy a Apex probe for a Pinpoint controller but was told by J&L Apex has a USB style plug instead of the universal round end on probes. ??

Ryanerickson
01-27-2015, 10:54 PM
I use pinpoint for reactor on apex nothing is usb exact same as there probe but cheaper.

spit.fire
01-27-2015, 11:42 PM
Don't they need a USB adapter ? I went to buy a Apex probe for a Pinpoint controller but was told by J&L Apex has a USB style plug instead of the universal round end on probes. ??


Apex has round plug

Doug
01-27-2015, 11:44 PM
Don't they need a USB adapter ? I went to buy a Apex probe for a Pinpoint controller but was told by J&L Apex has a USB style plug instead of the universal round end on probes. ??

You need another module if running more than one probe plus an ORP. There are 2 ph ports otherwise if no ORP is used. As mentioned they are round exactly the same as a Pinpoint connection.

Treebeard
01-28-2015, 02:01 AM
Thanks all. I will give the Pinpoint a go.

andestang
01-29-2015, 01:38 AM
Ok thx guys, maybe mis-communication on the phone. The Pinpoints were out of stock at the time so I was just going to get an Apex probe. Thought that was kinda odd.

Treebeard
01-29-2015, 01:53 AM
Out of stock where?

Ok thx guys, maybe mis-communication on the phone. The Pinpoints were out of stock at the time so I was just going to get an Apex probe. Thought that was kinda odd.

andestang
01-29-2015, 03:36 AM
J&L at the time, month ago ? Why ?

Treebeard
01-29-2015, 04:11 AM
I just read your previous posts..sorry for not responding to the one about J&L and the interface. I can confirm that the Pinpoint uses the round BNC connection, not USB. I picked mine up at OC on 16th for $46.99 in case you are still needing one.

andestang
01-29-2015, 09:55 PM
A fair price, thanks.