PDA

View Full Version : Stocking Questions

silvercharm
12-28-2014, 05:50 AM
Now that I am getting closer to getting my first reef tank set up I am starting to plan stocking options and I am looking for suggestions. The tank I have is a 4' 75 gallon w/ a 40 gallon sump. I'm currently fixing it up right now but I should have it ready to start cycling soon :)
Anyway these are some of the fish I was looking at having:
Foxface (One spot foxface may be my only option, but I love the look of the magnificent foxface)
A pair of clownfish

I'd love to have a small tang but thinking my tank may be too small.
Does anyone have any other suggestions? I like colourful fish and/or fish with interesting behaviours. Since I'm pretty new to this I don't know what can go together or what is a good stocking limit. Thanks!

Aquattro
12-28-2014, 05:53 AM
there are thousands of combinations possible, so best to list off what you like and get advice on that. Look through J&L fish page or some other site that sells fish. See what you like, look up requirements, and then post what you've come up with.

silvercharm
12-28-2014, 06:17 AM
Ok So I went through and picked out some fish I like. I'm not going to have room for all of these of course, but these are what I was interested in. From here can I get some tips as to what will work well together and what is a good number to keep?
Here is the list of fish I liked:

Pair Clownfish (Ocellaris or Percula)
Midas Blenny
Banggai Cardinal
Orange Spot Sleeper Goby
Tomini Tang
Kole Tang
One Spot Foxface
Magnificent Foxface
Carpenter's Flasher Wrasse
Mystery Wrasse
Blue Sided Fairy Wrasse

Not sure which ones will work together and how many I can keep in my size of tank. I want them to be happy because once home I will consider them pets lol The only fish on this list that are "must haves" for me are the pair of clownfish and a foxface of some type if possible!

htfn
12-28-2014, 06:49 AM