PDA

View Full Version : need some input

wreck
12-19-2014, 02:49 AM
Hey everyone. Does anyone have a tank set up in their furnace room?. I currently have my set up built into the wall but on my access side its my furnace room. Im a little worried if sw will corrode or be hazardous to anything in the furnace room?

Thanks.

mike31154
12-19-2014, 03:24 AM
Hard to say without a tad more detail, such as, is it the basement, photos? As a good rule of thumb, a little ventilation goes a long way! I have plans for a basement sump which will be in the general vicinity of my furnace. Furnace or no, I'll need to think about ventilation, humidity, etc.

wreck
12-19-2014, 03:27 AM
I will get some photos. Its in the basement, furnace, air exchanger and electric box and water heater in there. I dont have a door on the room. Virtually everything is at opposite end of the tank and sump

mike31154
12-19-2014, 03:38 AM
I'm no HVAC expert, but if you have an air exchanger you should be ok with respect to ventilation. Still, a bit of additional ventilation in the basement to keep the humidity down may be a good idea. If the components you're concerned about are a good distance away, then a bit of salty humidity at the other end of the room shouldn't be a huge concern. But I'm just guessing here, hard to gauge without seeing the set up. Age of your home & overall air tightness will determine if additional ventilation is required. Saskatchewan winters are typically pretty dry (air wise). The house may actually benefit from a bit more humidity.

wreck
12-19-2014, 03:44 AM
Thank you for the replies!!

e46er
12-19-2014, 03:53 AM
Im a heating guy.... I wouldn't worry so much about your furnace as I would your electrical panel..... my tank has rusted out my fireplace louves 15 feet away in 2 years.
I'd install a bath fan or someth I ng if possible and put it on a humidistat or timer to clear out the excess humidity.