PDA

View Full Version : The problem with having your controller control everything

patman
11-12-2014, 01:22 AM
is that your controller controls everything.
My Apex base unit decided to die today. I think it shorted from a small splash of water.
Everything stopped. I had to pull out some old power bars and my previous Jebao controllers so my pumps would work. Everything back working again but I'm running blind.
I was going to automate even more things on my new build. May need to rethink that now. They talk about a controller adding redundancy to the system but that doesn't help when the controller fails.

whatcaneyedo
11-12-2014, 02:23 AM
I had the base unit die on me too at this time last year. It was likely from getting wet as well. Like you I switched everything over to analog timers while I sent the device back to Neptune. They fixed it for around $60 and had me back in operation after about 4 weeks. I've been using a Neptune controller since 2008 and this was my second hiccup. Both were my fault and both were repaired, the first under warrantee. All things considered I couldn't have gotten this far without one. However it would be a good idea to have at least one independent circulation pump.

patman
11-12-2014, 03:00 AM
Did you deal with Neptune Systems directly or from the dealer? I got mine through Concept Aquariums.

whatcaneyedo
11-12-2014, 03:10 AM
If I had just recently purchased it I might have tried dealing with my dealer but because the warrantee period had already passed I spoke with Neptune directly. https://www.neptunesystems.com/support/contact-support/ They tried to trouble shoot with me a bit but it was pretty apparent that there was nothing that I could do. So they gave me a support ticket number and some shipping directions to send it back. I had to pay for shipping down and the repair but they covered the cost of the return.

ronau
11-12-2014, 03:17 AM
When my display died, I dealt directly with Neptune. Faster than going through retailer.