PDA

View Full Version : Cupramine by Seachem...

bulletsworld
08-28-2004, 12:09 AM
I have a bare bottom 29gal all ready to go. Have new water put in & using aged bacteria sponges in the aquaclear filter. I have never used copper before, it totally scares me since I have heard overdosing stories from others, killing their fish. But since my battle with Amyloodinium "Marine Velvet", I have little option but copper now. HELP!

Whats the best test kit for cupramine? :question:

Also what is the lowest the salinity that can be used while treating with this copper? Since I was treating hyposalinity 1.09. Have to raise to what level to be safe? :eek:

Also has anyone treated cupramine & used PRIME dechlorinator & had bad effects? I read this one the FAQ seachem site about mixing these products but...so..does this mean if you use Prime & Cupramine then everything will die or is that if you OVERDOSE with prime. Not sure I understood. :eek:

"Q: I've been dosing with Cupramine™ and then I added Product X and everything died. What happened?
A: If Product X is a reducing agent such as ParaGuard™ (or other aldehyde based medications), or if you overdose with a dechlorinator, such as Prime™ then the Cu+2 will be reduced to Cu+. Cu+ is 10 times more toxic than Cu+2." http://www.seachem.com/support/FAQs/Cupramine_faq.html

Any other things i should watch out for when treating with this stuff? Ph drops! False Ammonia readings?
Boy do i need help hey. HELP! :eek: Before I kill all my fishy friends, my puffer, cowfish, regal tang!

Thanks so much in advance for your replys.

Rick_B
08-30-2004, 01:21 AM