PDA

View Full Version : Stand Builder

Jaws
08-27-2004, 10:45 PM
I need someone to build me a stand for my 180G tank. If anyone's interested, please contact me so we can discuss price. I've basically been ready to set up my tank for two months now but I still need a stand before it's a go. If anyone could please help me with this I would really appreciate it.

Fish
08-28-2004, 06:45 AM
Jaws,
You probably want to have something built more locally to you but if you are planning on being in Alberta my father in law does really excellent work. He is a cabinet maker by trade and he made the stand you see in my gallery. (he didn't intend it to be a tank stand but I cut through the top of it for my overflow :redface: ). He also made the canopy and canopy stand for my lights to my specifications.
He charges 2X the cost of material. Ie, if the wood cost $200 then he charges $200 for his labour - it seems like a pretty reasonable price but I can check and see if there's a canreef-member discount; however, it probably wont be as good as the guy-who-married-his-daughter discount :smile: .
Just an option,
- Chad

Jaws
08-28-2004, 03:21 PM
I wish I could find someone local. I'm hoping someone will respond to this. I'd like to set up the tank as soon as possible.

robbyville
08-28-2004, 05:27 PM
You may also want to call wendell (Zulu Prinicpal), quite a while back when I was just starting to plan my canopy I think he mentioned that he knew a reasonably priced builder.

hockey nut
08-28-2004, 08:52 PM
I have a friend in Victoria who is a cabinet builder. I could call him and see if he is interested on a side job. Pm me your number if you like and I will pass it on to him.

Fish Breath
08-29-2004, 06:56 PM
what are the dimensions of the tank

Jaws
08-29-2004, 07:53 PM
72" by 24" by 24"

Cap'n
08-29-2004, 09:07 PM