PDA

View Full Version : Ideas on quick phosphate control

Aquattro
08-19-2014, 05:53 AM
So let's say you had a 300g tank that you transferred an existing 300g full of SPS into in one day. Then let's say you tested PO4 and found it to be close to 3PPM.

How would you manage that? I have no experience with phosphate issues and I'm not sure how to help this guy. Ideas?

WarDog
08-19-2014, 06:08 AM
100 % water change?

Aquattro
08-19-2014, 06:12 AM
100 % water change?

Ya, suggested that. But that's a lot of water to make and store and move. Also suggested fozdown.

Problem is the rock is all old dead rock that will keep leaching, so that would be multiple 100% changes over a few months.

Wheelman76
08-19-2014, 07:05 AM
What was the po4 level at normally in the old 300?

monocus
08-19-2014, 07:53 AM
use precision solutions phosphate reducer-more bang for your buck,10-15 gal waterchange every 1-2 days(as not to shock the system) add a bag of seachem roaphos(if i remember right) and change out every three days.keep monitoring every 2-3 days till you can cut back on the waterchanges and seachem.keep using phosphate reducer (about 180 drops a day-i was using 160 in my 240).run roaphos to keep it stable

Aquattro
08-19-2014, 12:01 PM
What was the po4 level at normally in the old 300?

I'm guessing the same. He had 21 tangs in it :(

DAVE
08-19-2014, 12:12 PM
Lanthium chloride. Dose according to bottle and test your ALK.

jordsyke
08-19-2014, 01:45 PM
Yes lanthium chloride works wonders for removing PO4 quickly, just be carerfull

reefwars
08-19-2014, 02:51 PM
Aquattro;910023]Ya, suggested that. But that's a lot of water to make and store and move. Also suggested fozdown.

Problem is the rock is all old dead rock that will keep leaching, so that would be multiple 100% changes over a few months.

Actually a 100% water change will do very little as the phosphate is bound to other thing in the tank , the good news is phosphates have a limit so it can only leach so long.