PDA

View Full Version : Stocking Suggestions

Richer
08-24-2004, 09:44 PM
Now that my holidays is just about over and I won't be taking another extended vacation for at least a couple of years, I figure its time to add fish to my tank. However, seeing how I'm still a newbie at this stuff, I'd like to put this through all of you to see if I'm on the right track... or if I'm bonkers.

Some background info:

The tank has been running in its current state for about a month. The rock itself has been running for about 2-3 months in a temporary holding tank. The xenia frag Harvey gave me has grown and split, and my pod population is very large. Ammonia, nitrite and nitrate have been holding steady at zero before my vacation, and afterwards. So I think its safe to say that the tank is stable enough for a couple of fish. In the end, I would like to have a reef... at the moment, I'm thinking about keeping nothing too hard. Mostly mushrooms and zoos... and perhaps in the future a cap of some sort. I'm currently running a 2x96watt PC fixture, though I'm looking into upgrading to 2x175MH. The tank is 30 gallons (36"x12"x16" lxwxh) with a 15 gallon fuge stuffed with chaetomorpha. I'm also running a barebottom system. Currently, the only things living in my tank are 2 cerith snails, 2 nassarius snails, 2 astrea snails, and a load of pods.

This is what I want in my tank:
6-12 more cerith snails
? hermit crabs
1 cleaner shrimp
2 peppermint shrimps
2 false peculas
1 lawnmower blenny

What sort and how many hermit crabs would you all suggest? I think hermit crabs are neat, and would like at least a couple of them. Is there anything else I should add? More snails maybe? Or is there anything I shouldn't have in there?

Thanks for helping!
-Richer

Stirfry
08-25-2004, 04:56 PM