PDA

View Full Version : Tunze power head is not working, why?


Bell Guy
06-07-2014, 08:27 AM
it stop working days ago, when I plug in, it only turn few degree one time and stop. can it be fixed? I tested the voltage is good to the controller. thanks!!

Aquattro
06-07-2014, 03:16 PM
Not much to go on. What kind, how old, impeller good? Controller working?

monza
06-07-2014, 03:22 PM
Start with a really good cleaning.

Bell Guy
06-10-2014, 07:40 AM
I don't not know the model, the original box was gone, I remember I pay almost 600 got it from Golds.

Slyguy00
06-10-2014, 07:42 AM
Vinegar bath. If its seized it will free it up.

Bell Guy
06-10-2014, 07:45 AM
I already did one. same, when it power up, only few degree turn.

Slyguy00
06-10-2014, 07:46 AM
Looks like it might be time for a new one.

Bell Guy
06-10-2014, 08:05 AM
yes, may have to buy a new one. thinking about the Vertec or Tunze, anyone has suggestion?

Slyguy00
06-10-2014, 08:24 AM
Never used either of them. Ecotech mp series all the way.

monza
06-10-2014, 01:55 PM
I'm guessing every thing on that pump is repairable/replaceable. When you socked it did you take it all apart?

The Guy
06-10-2014, 05:21 PM
Best bang for the buck is the WP series Jebao wave makers I have wp 25's. As with any pump keeping the cage, motor, impeller and rotor clean with vinegar soaks is the secret to long life I find. I also run a tunze and it works well too. :smile:

Madreefer
06-10-2014, 06:27 PM
Best bang for the buck is the WP series Jebao wave makers I have wp 25's. As with any pump keeping the cage, motor, impeller and rotor clean with vinegar soaks is the secret to long life I find. I also run a tunze and it works well too. :smile:

Yea I agree. I've had 5 different Ecotech MP40s and 3 had to be replaced. The options of flow they offer can't be beat but the unrelaiablity and noise is the reason I no longer own them. I now run Tunzes but when they pack it in its the Jebaos for my tank.

Bell Guy
06-11-2014, 07:01 AM
the old one run for 4 years, no complain about, a little noise, powerful. I always put it on max output, so I find this one not controllable is good price.

Bell Guy
06-11-2014, 07:06 AM
Monza, I am sure take it all apart, look like the some wrong with the power adapter or the motor, after I get the new one, I will try, and find out what is problem.

The guy, can u give me a web sit about the WP wave box, I can't find it on Bulkreef.

Thank!

The Guy
06-11-2014, 03:30 PM
Monza, I am sure take it all apart, look like the some wrong with the power adapter or the motor, after I get the new one, I will try, and find out what is problem.

The guy, can u give me a web sit about the WP wave box, I can't find it on Bulkreef.

Thank!
http://www.canreef.com/images/ads/reefsupplycanada.gif
Have a look at this site they are one of Canreefs sponsors on the main bulletin board page .