PDA

View Full Version : Cord Management


Aquattro
06-06-2014, 06:39 AM
Anyone have pics of their brilliant cord management strategies? Looking for ideas.

StirCrazy
06-06-2014, 07:06 AM
here

http://www.beavertonresourceguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/08-ext-cord-mess.jpg

Steve

Slyguy00
06-06-2014, 08:00 AM
here

http://www.beavertonresourceguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/08-ext-cord-mess.jpg

Steve


Lmao. Awesome!

Aquattro
06-06-2014, 02:16 PM
Oh Steve, that's nothing. I'll post my current design, way better than that!!

daplatapus
06-06-2014, 02:28 PM
Panduit is awesome for running cords and stuff in hoods and cabinets. For outside stuff, I like the black split wire harness stuff.

MarkoD
06-06-2014, 02:55 PM
I used 1.5" conduit clamps and ran all my wires through them.

And it's easy to remove the cord if you need to unplug something and remove it

Aquattro
06-06-2014, 03:09 PM
I'm trying to figure out if I have enough room in my stand to build in a hidden compartment that I can access from the side. I have my full Apex system with 2 power bars that I would like to hide, but also protect from moisture. Currently they're tacked to the wall beside the tank, and it looks like crap.

lastlight
06-06-2014, 03:47 PM
http://www.fishbrains.net/images/93/clean.jpg

Craigdillman
06-06-2014, 04:02 PM
When I was in my build I woulda payed someone a few hundred bucks to do mine

Aquattro
06-06-2014, 04:13 PM
So lots of "wht not to do" ideas here :)

lastlight
06-06-2014, 04:33 PM
So lots of "wht not to do" ideas here :)

ok that stings wtf?

Slick Fork
06-06-2014, 05:02 PM
http://www.fishbrains.net/images/93/clean.jpg

Ha,

That's pretty much what my old tank looked like...

Aquattro
06-06-2014, 05:16 PM
ok that stings wtf?

Probably not a sting. More likely electrical current :)

FishyFishy!
06-06-2014, 05:42 PM
I love this new electrical panduit I got. I don't have everything set up yet, but it will keep everything out of the way and tidy looking.

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c38/bilmaga/2014-05-22%2022.26.53_zpstxxqwwyf.png (http://s24.photobucket.com/user/bilmaga/media/2014-05-22%2022.26.53_zpstxxqwwyf.png.html)

Got the idea from builds like this:

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c38/bilmaga/Panduit_zpscdce49d8.png (http://s24.photobucket.com/user/bilmaga/media/Panduit_zpscdce49d8.png.html)

pinkreef
06-06-2014, 05:46 PM
http://www.fishbrains.net/images/93/clean.jpg


better fix that top shelf

FishyFishy!
06-06-2014, 05:49 PM
Here is one with the tops off the panduit

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c38/bilmaga/Electrical-Nice_zps1740a974.jpg (http://s24.photobucket.com/user/bilmaga/media/Electrical-Nice_zps1740a974.jpg.html)

And a super clean panel look:
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c38/bilmaga/NiceElectrical_zps50d5b5aa.jpg (http://s24.photobucket.com/user/bilmaga/media/NiceElectrical_zps50d5b5aa.jpg.html)

straightrazorguy
06-06-2014, 09:08 PM
This panduit stuff looks great! Where can I find some?

Borderjumper
06-06-2014, 09:25 PM
If you just want to hide them.. What we did to hid all the cables and crap going to the wall mounted TV was to split a 4" diameter PVC pipe ( the appropriate length ) in half.. Paint it the wall color and place it over all the wires.

christyf5
06-06-2014, 09:54 PM
I just don't look at it. Problem solved.

Mind you, I got worse problems than some unsightly cords. The hair algae is back :(

monza
06-07-2014, 01:29 AM
Wire 'trays' are available at http://www.eecol.com/run/www/a.py/Main?program=Home
I just bought some, if I ever get them in use I'll post some pics.

Aquattro
06-07-2014, 01:40 AM
Wire 'trays' are available at http://www.eecol.com/run/www/a.py/Main?program=Home
I just bought some, if I ever get them in use I'll post some pics.

I don't see any pics on the site.

Problem is I'm trying to hide power bars and lots of cords in a not so big stand.

ReEf BoSs
06-07-2014, 01:44 AM
http://www.fishbrains.net/images/93/clean.jpg

wtf lol Thats quality! Do you think theres a gfci outlet ?

monza
06-07-2014, 03:24 AM
I don't see any pics on the site.

Problem is I'm trying to hide power bars and lots of cords in a not so big stand.

No pics, terrible site it was just for reference of where you could get some. They come in 4' lengths you cut as needed. Kinda pointless in a stand really. Have you seen the zip tie type thing that you can release and then use a again? It would be good to organize cables tight but then allow the removal of certain wires and such for repair and cleaning.

Jaws
06-07-2014, 09:34 AM
What does this stuff sell for by the foot approximately?

FishyFishy!
06-07-2014, 02:30 PM
I don't see any pics on the site.

Problem is I'm trying to hide power bars and lots of cords in a not so big stand.

I vote a panel on one side, or at the back of the stand where you can hide it all behind. Mount everything on the front and drill holes in it for the wires to go behind and out of sight. Like the 4th pic I posted, looks like he didnt have a tonne of space, but it looks like he hid everything nicely.

Aquattro
06-07-2014, 02:53 PM
I was thinking building a recessed compartment into the side facing the wall to house the Apex bars, then cords could come through the back of that compartment. But I have to see how much room my Ca reactor takes up. If I keep my 20# CO2 tank external, I may have more room than using a 5# inside the stand. The stand will sit very close to the wall, so no room behind it to do much. I also have 2 large MH ballasts to deal with. hmm

The Grizz
06-07-2014, 06:54 PM
Heres mine Brad...

http://i765.photobucket.com/albums/xx291/GRIZZtheWELDER/300%20gal%208%20footer/2F73EB70-02F6-4560-BF9E-607692B47A0F_zpsul7wm6os.jpg (http://s765.photobucket.com/user/GRIZZtheWELDER/media/300%20gal%208%20footer/2F73EB70-02F6-4560-BF9E-607692B47A0F_zpsul7wm6os.jpg.html)

http://i765.photobucket.com/albums/xx291/GRIZZtheWELDER/300%20gal%208%20footer/FC82EB9F-2DDF-4F57-9E3E-9A2F23B2DD38_zpszlpxghys.jpg (http://s765.photobucket.com/user/GRIZZtheWELDER/media/300%20gal%208%20footer/FC82EB9F-2DDF-4F57-9E3E-9A2F23B2DD38_zpszlpxghys.jpg.html)

Used the same thing on my pumps cords as well

http://i765.photobucket.com/albums/xx291/GRIZZtheWELDER/300%20gal%208%20footer/null_zps30f13a86.jpg (http://s765.photobucket.com/user/GRIZZtheWELDER/media/300%20gal%208%20footer/FC82EB9F-2DDF-4F57-9E3E-9A2F23B2DD38_zpszlpxghys.jpg.html)

http://i765.photobucket.com/albums/xx291/GRIZZtheWELDER/300%20gal%208%20footer/null_zps5daf4f51.jpg (http://s765.photobucket.com/user/GRIZZtheWELDER/media/300%20gal%208%20footer/null_zps5daf4f51.jpg.html)

Aquattro
06-07-2014, 09:43 PM
Thanks Greg, that gives me some ideas.

Scythanith
06-08-2014, 07:51 AM
http://www.lithicimages.com/photos/i-TH73qVJ/0/L/i-TH73qVJ-L.jpg

http://www.lithicimages.com/photos/i-nHSD2Fg/0/L/i-nHSD2Fg-L.jpg

http://www.lithicimages.com/photos/i-5NCTDfW/0/L/i-5NCTDfW-L.jpg