PDA

View Full Version : Maxima Clam Question

FishingGoalie
04-22-2014, 10:40 PM
Hi I have a maxima clam and i was wondering if it can go on rocks? or does have to be in the sand?

Aquattro
04-22-2014, 11:13 PM
I've seen them on rock work, but anytime I tried, they always jumped off.

FishingGoalie
04-22-2014, 11:28 PM
There in the sand for now but i may move them later :)

kien
04-22-2014, 11:51 PM
In the wild i've only ever seen these clams in/on rocks. I'm no clam expert, but I assumed that they actually prefer to be on rocks where they can get a good strong foot hold and possibly even burrow into the rock over time?

freeze
04-22-2014, 11:55 PM
They like being on rocks but are usually in crevasses and such.
To make mine movable without messing around with their foot all the time, I got a piece of flat rock that has a dip/pocket in the center and put that on the sand. Once they attach you can move them around.

You can also take a dremel to some rock and create a pocket.

FishingGoalie
04-23-2014, 12:06 AM
I took a small piece of broken shelf and put him on that I need to find a place that i like him on the rock. How long does it take for there foot to attach?

Thanks for the help

freeze
04-23-2014, 12:09 AM
Some will start attaching within hours....at least with mine and some days until they get comfy. One of mine wasn't comfy on one of my rocks and let go with his foot. And jumped, was just above the sand so more just tipped over but had to readjust him. Now he's happy.

pinkreef
05-29-2014, 03:18 PM