PDA

View Full Version : Tired of skimmer

mattr
04-08-2014, 02:27 AM
I am kind of new to this. I have had a tank for a year and a half now so this is the only skimmer that I have ever had.

My setup. I have three chambers in my sump. In the first one; my skimmer,
second one some cheato (msg me if you want any for free) and in my third the return pump.

Now my issue is that cheato gets stuck in my skimmer in the middle where the bubbles are supposed to separate(the plate with the holes)? What I end up doing is adjusting the skimmer to raise the foam until it completely stops and I have to take it out and clean the whole skimmer out (about once a month)

Sometimes I adjust it and it collects a bit then next thing i know it overflows on me dumping everything that it collected right back into the tank. I ended up putting a fish net in over the inlet for the skimmer but the same thing. Its just very inconsistant and very frustrating.

Any ideas anyone?

Thanks in advance!

Myka
04-08-2014, 02:40 AM
Which skimmer do you have?

mattr
04-08-2014, 02:50 AM
cad lights pls-100

Myka
04-08-2014, 02:54 AM
I'm unsure how the Chaeto is getting into the skimmer when the skimmer is in the chamber before the Chaeto. Could you please explain?

mattr
04-08-2014, 02:55 AM
Some gets into my tank. Then some ends up eaten and some gets into the overflow. and down the drain

Myka
04-08-2014, 03:03 AM
Could you put a filter sock on the drain to catch it?

mattr
04-08-2014, 05:04 AM
Lets say that I cant. Are there any other options?
The reason I feel like I cant is because the water level in my sump is about an inch and a half to the top. and the splashing or overflow of the sock will be very close to the rim.

monza
04-08-2014, 05:21 AM
Take the Chaeto out...

WarDog
04-08-2014, 05:23 AM
Take the Chaeto out...

+1

Slyguy00
04-08-2014, 07:13 AM