PDA

View Full Version : Anyone running a wp-25 in a 40 breeder?


Timbits
04-04-2014, 03:37 AM
So I just set up my wp-10 in my little 40 breeder and it seems so weak! After reading a bunch of reviews saying how strong this little pump is I thought one would do the trick. I have it on the left side smack in the center on else mode and S1 and my Xenia and frogspawn on the other side of the tank is barely moving. :(

Is my pump defective? Lol I saw a youtube video of a wp-10 in a 4 FT tank creating huge waves and my waves are not even close to that...

Anyone running a wp-25 in a 40 breeder? Is it too strong? If you have a 40 breeder, what are you using for flow? Wondering what to do now as I thought my wp-10 would be enough flow......

Adrenaline101
04-04-2014, 04:07 AM
try turning it onto W2 and have the speed mode of S1. See if in wave pulse mode it moves them.
I have 2 wp-25's in a 100G and they blow sand around unless pointed just right

Wretch
04-04-2014, 04:13 AM
I am using 2 WP10s in my 54g corner.

Timbits
04-04-2014, 05:47 AM
I am using 2 WP10s in my 54g corner.

Hi Wretch,

Can you give a little more info on your setup? What are the dimensions of your tank? Where did you position your wp-10s. How do you like them? Is it enough flow or too strong. Do you have it on max? Did you try just turning one on? Was it too weak? Thx

Timbits
04-04-2014, 05:49 AM
try turning it onto W2 and have the speed mode of S1. See if in wave pulse mode it moves them.
I have 2 wp-25's in a 100G and they blow sand around unless pointed just right

Hmm didn't move much. I went to w1 and cranked the knob to max and it started to move a little but not much :neutral:

Do u have your wp25 in max mode? Do u think 1 wp25 is too much for a 40 breeder?

nrosdal
04-04-2014, 07:20 AM
the wp10 is fairly small i would recommend at least 2 for a 40g tank or 1 wp10 with 1 wp25. The 25 might be a bit much but with a variable power supply or a dual controller you could dial it back a bit.

duncangweller
04-04-2014, 08:41 AM
I have two wp-25 in a 93 cube and you could surf on the waves.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Tn23
04-04-2014, 09:17 AM
WP25 in my 30G and it blows waves right off the top. Is the power supply set correctly?

makana
04-04-2014, 03:18 PM
The knob is for setting the frequency of the wave to match the length of the tank. You need to dial the knob in to get the best wave in your tank. It is not something you crank to the max.

My wp10 is in a jbj cube and on else mode it is too strong for xenia. Everything else seems to be ok but the xenia has shrivled up and mostly died off since I added the pump.

I have a wp25 in my 72g bow and in else mode it was too strong for the softies. The undertow across the front of the tank was so strong it was pulling the mushrooms off the rocks. The GSP would not open. I have it dialed in on W1 now and the undertow is strong but not as constant and the softies are doing great.

Wretch
04-04-2014, 03:32 PM
Hi Wretch,

Can you give a little more info on your setup? What are the dimensions of your tank? Where did you position your wp-10s. How do you like them? Is it enough flow or too strong. Do you have it on max? Did you try just turning one on? Was it too weak? Thx

My tank is a quarter circle. Its got two 27" sides and a 30" something bowfront. I have one wp10 on each 27" side aimed straight down the glass into to bowfront. My return blow straight down the middle of my tank. I never tried just one. I did have them on max but I have backed them off a little now.

Timbits
04-05-2014, 03:20 AM
WP25 in my 30G and it blows waves right off the top. Is the power supply set correctly?

What do u mean? Is there a special way to do it?

In your frag tank? Wanna trade? Lol I have wp-10

Timbits
04-05-2014, 03:24 AM
The knob is for setting the frequency of the wave to match the length of the tank. You need to dial the knob in to get the best wave in your tank. It is not something you crank to the max.

My wp10 is in a jbj cube and on else mode it is too strong for xenia. Everything else seems to be ok but the xenia has shrivled up and mostly died off since I added the pump.

I have a wp25 in my 72g bow and in else mode it was too strong for the softies. The undertow across the front of the tank was so strong it was pulling the mushrooms off the rocks. The GSP would not open. I have it dialed in on W1 now and the undertow is strong but not as constant and the softies are doing great.

Sorry I meant I had to turn the knob all the way to get the most back and forth movement from my corals

Are those the only power heads you are running in those tanks? What are the dimensions of those tanks? Thx

Timbits
04-05-2014, 03:25 AM
My tank is a quarter circle. Its got two 27" sides and a 30" something bowfront. I have one wp10 on each 27" side aimed straight down the glass into to bowfront. My return blow straight down the middle of my tank. I never tried just one. I did have them on max but I have backed them off a little now.

How do you like them?

Wretch
04-05-2014, 04:24 AM
How do you like them?

I love the small size. They seem to move just as much water as the much bigger hydors. I would get them again.

Timbits
04-07-2014, 12:51 AM
Does anyone just run one wavemaker? Like one mp10 and that's it for flow?

nrosdal
04-07-2014, 03:55 AM
i run just 1 wp10 in my 20g anemone tank and it is fine. Would add a 2nd if i filled it with sps. But one would be ok for softies/lps/a few sps.

milou
04-07-2014, 04:37 AM
I had a WP25 on my 40 breeder and it was a bit too powerful. It blew everything on it's path and turned my loose shrooms upside down and carried them like a whirlwind. It also create a bare patch on the sand. I have another wp25 on my 90 gal 3 ft tank and it's ok. I guess the problem was the 40 breeder is too shallow and putting a wp25 will create a lot of turbulence.

reefmandan
04-07-2014, 12:12 PM
I have a WP-25 in my 40g breeder, and set on W1/S3 and directed upwards the flow is perfect! Unfortunately, it's the only setting that works well for that size of tank

ronau
04-07-2014, 01:42 PM
If you do go with a WP-25 and you have an Apex controller, it may be good to have your Apex control it. You then can make it do whatever you want, I love controlling my 2 WP-25s with my Apex.

duncangweller
04-07-2014, 02:29 PM
I put a second wp-25 in my 93 cube last night and went out for dinner. I came home and had no sand in the front third of my tank! I should perhaps ha e tinkered with it a little more before I left for the evening.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk