PDA

View Full Version : Reef newby

smitas5
04-02-2014, 05:27 AM
Hi there, I'm very new to Canada and new to reef, so visited LFS here in Regina and got recommended JBJ 45G tank to start with. Not much out there about it, so if anyone heard or have one, please comments are welcome.
I kept freshwater for a while, discus, tropheus etc. so know some about chemistry, but not much about salt :)
Any info please.. Where to go in SK to get good advice, where to buy tank, where to go for lighting, live rock etc.. I have another 2-3 months before I will purchase anything, so gathering the info now

Appreciate all the help
Marius

jordsyke
04-02-2014, 06:29 AM
Most people on here use sumps over canister filters. So get a sump :P

smitas5
04-02-2014, 01:35 PM
Thanks but aquarium I'm asking about has built in sump type filter at the back. it kind of has sectioned part to it for media. Not too sure if it is adequate.

WarDog
04-02-2014, 02:10 PM
Welcome to Canreef! If you are looking for some good information I would suggest going into the forum section and start reading everyone's tank journals. You will learn a lot about the different hardware people use and some terminology. Plus, you may see something you really like (like a custon tank from Concepts) that could steer you in a different direction. I use websites like bulkreefsupply.com and j&laquatics.com when researching hardware. There are also some great vendors on here, check out their sites too. Everything you need is at your fingertips. As for that jbj tank I have no opinion, I decided to steer clear of the 'all in one' tanks and go with a sump below to allow extra room for more gear.

jordsyke
04-02-2014, 03:23 PM