PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for plumbing assistance

PaulCheung
03-31-2014, 06:17 AM
I am working on my first DIY salt water tank. I have a 50 g tank drilled with 3 1" holes and have a 25 g tank to be converted to sump.I am thinking to use herbie overflow.

I am thinking to use flexible hose for main drain and emergecy drain and PVC for my return. For the return, I want to be able to adjust the return flow to match the overflow rate. So I think i need a type gate valve.

So far i have just bought 3 1 inch bulk heads. When i got to the hardware store, there are so many different stuffs that looks so similar. i don't what kind of plumbing stuffs i need to buy to complete my DIY project. Desparately lookomg for advices in plumbing my tank.

For starter, what is the 90 degree part the can connect the 1 inch bulk head. While my bulk head is inch, does it mean the diameter of the PVC and flexible hose is also 1 inch?

I have no experience in this thing. Any advice will be appreciated.

strider
03-31-2014, 07:10 AM
Welcome to saltwater hobby :)

It could become overwhelming sometimes don't let that discourage u.

While my bulk head is inch, does it mean the diameter of the PVC and flexible hose is also 1 inch?

Yes

U will have gate or ball valve on main drain pipe to control the flow .
No need to control flow on return line.

I do not understand why u need 90 degree elbow?

It would help if you could draw out on a paper what you are trying to achieve.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SeaHorse_Fanatic
03-31-2014, 09:25 AM
Paul,

When you're doing your plumbing come to my place and borrow my PVC cutter. It's really handy and cuts through pvc like butter and will work on flexhose too.

Just ordered two and waiting to use them soon.

Anthony

Trevor W
03-31-2014, 01:12 PM