PDA

View Full Version : Hey sumpless guys, whats ur setup?

scott_r
03-24-2014, 03:01 AM
Just curious as to other peoples set up on their tanks with no sumps? Im new to this hobby, bought a used set up and unfortunately I cant drill my tank. The set up is a 72 gallon bowfront, Fluval 406, Remora Pro S skimmer, 2 power heads w/a a chit load of live rock :mrgreen: Things are very stable, only problem is my Nitrates hang around 10 all the time. I do 10% water changes and weekly clean out my Fluval. For now this is what Im gonna work with.

Cheers!!

Adrenaline101
03-24-2014, 03:11 AM
Before my tank A.D.D. kicked in I was dealing with this same dilemma. One of the biggest things I looked into was hard plumbing a larger external skimmer. The Remora just isn't big enough to pull enough water volume out of my old 50G let alone the 72.

In the mean time, what are you running inside of the fluval canister filter?

SteveCGY
03-24-2014, 03:21 AM
60 gallon cube. Eshopps 100 hob skimmer and wp25 for flow. Love it and no problems at all. I don't think I would ever a run a sump unless 100g or larger. 5g water changes weekly.

hillegom
03-24-2014, 03:22 AM
canister filters are great nitrate factories. Totally work in freshwater, but not salt. You could take all the media out and put in LR if you want. But the media just collects detrius and converts it into nitrates. Different matter if you cleaned it every 3 days, but who wants to do that?
You could use a HOB filter and clean the media there frequently. (Much easier and I know of people that do this)

mike31154
03-24-2014, 05:27 AM