PDA

View Full Version : New to hobby, seeking advice

Babalouie
03-12-2014, 07:21 PM
Newish to saltwater, at least it's been a long while since I've kept salt tanks. I'm totally new to corals. My goal is to have a Florida Ricordea tank. Some distant day, I'd like to combine it with h. Erectus and sexy shrimp, but for now, just the ricordea.
I'm looking at a 93 gallon cube or a 150gallon extra high for starters. The tank will have to go in the basement, and we will be remodeling in a couple of years. That will likely mean I will have to temporarily move the tank for construction
So:
1) should I wait a couple years until the basement is redone? I don't mind the work of moving the tank and inhabitants if it can be done safely for the inhabitants.
2) as an alternative to waiting, I can get the ball rolling with a small ricordea tank that can be housed elsewhere. It will give me experience and avoid the need for a tank move. Maybe a tank in the 40 gallon range.

3) any advantage in the 93 cube 30x30x27 vs the 150 gallon 48x24x30 for my purposes (beside added volume)?

Thanks

eli@fijireefrock.com
03-12-2014, 07:29 PM
For me I would start with a tank try things and sure will do great.
But if you are planning for upgrades I would maybe wait or start looking for your ultimate tank build...
If you are looking to try things for a free tank I have a couple 180guns..90glns..and I think 45glns all with metal stands and drilled...hope that makes your plan a little easier...lol
For a new tank build I highly sugest Concept aquarium in Calgary top service...

eli@fijireefrock.com
03-12-2014, 07:31 PM
By the way welcome to Canreef.

SeaHorse_Fanatic
03-12-2014, 07:32 PM