PDA

View Full Version : Red Sea Max 130D Issues

Eb0la11
03-08-2014, 12:49 AM
Im getting pretty fed up with my Red Sea Max. Had the system going about 9 months or so now and I cannot beat this string of red cyano. I have tried just about every suggestion I think I have read online without any luck.

Tried shorter photo period.
Tried Turbo Snails.
Tried sand sifting gobies.
Tried more frequent water changes.
Manually filtered a lot of it out via syphon regularly.
Changed the light bulbs.
Upped the flow, though I could still up it more.

Ive been battling it for like 6 months.

I had a much larger tank if anyone remembers when I was on this forum a couple years ago, but this nano is a lot more difficult.

I feel like the skimmer sucks. Ive had like 4 fish die in the system yet my main 4 guys that Ive had in for the past 6-7 months prior to the cyano all seem to be going strong. Some corals are growing noticeably.

Anyone have any suggestions? I feel like my pod community in the tank is not real strong. Do they help at all? I have one wrasse that has sort of pillaged them though I gave them a shell stronghold in a glass dish under some rocks in the back middle, but I dunno if that is really helping.

Im tempted to just try some chemical that irradiates it though Ive read it just returns again if the root of the problem isn't addressed.

kazzman
03-08-2014, 01:31 AM
Pick up some chem clean and flow the direction

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Koleswrath
03-08-2014, 02:39 AM
Nano's are definitely a big challenge. I had a small outbreak of Cyano when I got my reef keeper and decided to try a wave pattern with my two Koralia 425's. This effectively cut my flow in half. As soon as I got both pumps running full time again the Cyano disappeared within a few days.

The two big contributing factors for Cyano growth is excess phosphate and lack of flow.

You might need to combine everything below to beat it:
-increase your flow for sure.