PDA

View Full Version : Feeding corals

Drfu
02-25-2014, 10:24 PM
As I'm new at corals i have been reading a lot about feeding and see their is much debate on dosing with iodine, trace elements, etc. i have added quite a few coral frags, 2 a week for the last month, more or less done and now want to see them grow & be happy. So i went to my lfs asking what i need to keep them happy and instead of selling me all the additives for everything they said to use a combination of Copepods, rotifers, phyto plankton. They are suppose to create a controlled cycle of food that will not crash my tank and keep my corals fed along with my standard weekly water changes to take care of all the trace elements, etc that my coral need.

Does this sound right as i have not seen much on the subject of all three together before? Would love some advice on feeding, i will list what i got below & a pic to help with the explanations, thanks in advance for all of your help!

Tank:
IM Nuvo 8 w/upgraded pump w/ spinstream, extra marine glo bulb on top of stock LED lighting. Ff, pce&purigen in custom caddy & live rock in stock media basket. Cuc, snails only & no fish as of yet.

Corals:
Corky finger gorgonian. Devils hand, toadstool mushroom leather, hairy orange/green mushrooms. Orange montipora digiata, birdsnest, green montipora plate SPS. Various colony polyps. White pop pop xenia. Colt tree. Various ricordia mushrooms & small rock with some polyps.

Magickiwi
02-25-2014, 10:39 PM
It's what I do. I'm lucky that I can get my hands on all three and feed them slog with some powdered foods occasionally. I still dose some elements but not to the extent that some do.

Aquattro
02-25-2014, 10:51 PM
I feed my fish, that's it. Don't really see any point to adding extra stuff that won't directly get to corals. And my corals do pretty good without any feeding.

MitchM
02-25-2014, 11:44 PM