PDA

View Full Version : Grounding Probe

sumpfinfishe
02-15-2014, 04:44 PM
Hi all
Simply curious as to how many of you use grounding probes plugged into GFCI?

monza
02-15-2014, 05:41 PM
I don't think a grounding probe would do what it is supposed to do, collect stray voltage form your water if it was on a GFCI circuit, it would pop the GFCI. You'd be better off with what ever hardware your worried about leaking stray voltage on the GFCI. I'm not a electrician and could be totally wrong however...

sumpfinfishe
02-15-2014, 06:08 PM
I have read that using a grounding probe along with a gfci is the fastest way to cut power going directly into the tank, thus providing a milli second shock instead of making funeral plans:biggrin:

mark
02-15-2014, 06:09 PM
I use both. Might as well provide a path for the GFI to trip if there was leakage ahead of time rather than system waiting for me to but my hand in.

don.ald
02-15-2014, 06:36 PM
I thought using a ground probe with a gfi is dangerous, since the probe may interfere with the gfi and the gfi will not trip...then Zapp! Gotcha

Wheelman76
02-15-2014, 06:38 PM
No using a grounding probe with no GFCI is what is dangerous

don.ald
02-15-2014, 06:41 PM
No using a grounding probe with no GFCI is what is dangerous

Please explain.

mark
02-15-2014, 06:51 PM
a probe won't interfere with a GFI and a GFI will work with or without a ground.

sumpfinfishe
02-15-2014, 07:51 PM
From what I have researched is: that a grounding probe used along side a gfi provides the fastest or most direct route to shutting down power supplies, going gfi alone is also ok but not as direct/fast, and running a probe without gfi or no probe/gfi combo is basically allowing enough time to be seriously injured or worse!

Please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong:redface:

mark
02-15-2014, 08:03 PM
way a GFI works is it simply compares the current between the hot lead and the neutral and trips if there's an imbalance.