PDA

View Full Version : hi everyone! i'm new here *tank pic*

jess128
07-25-2004, 09:29 PM
Hello everyone! I just registered here and I thought I'd give myself a bit of an introduction. My name is Jess and I'm 16 years old. I've been keeping FW tanks for about 6 years and have been researching reef aquariums for about 6 months. I currently do not have any fish, my last fish were 2 red bellied pacus which died a few months ago. I'm working starting a 65 gallon reef. At the moment I have the tank on an oak stand (well, fake oak) and it's full of RO water and has an SG of 1.024. I currently have:
2 powerheads
1 tronic heater
1 Fluval 204
60lbs agagonite
Coralife PC lighting: 4-65W, 2 actinic and 2 10000K
I will be making my own skimmer soon and will buy 1 more powerhead. I'm looking for some live rock at the moment. I'm thinking of ordering some Fiji from J&L Aquatics, but I'd like something cheaper. I'm on a very tight budget. I'm thinking about buying some base rock first and then adding LR. I have been a member of Reef Central for a few months and have learned a great deal there, and I'm very excited about finally being able to talk to some people who live in the same city as me!
Here's a recent picture of my tank (it's a bit boring right now, I know...) sorry it's so dark, the flash on my camera wasn't working.
http://mediaservice.photoisland.com/auction/Jul/20047252461677563989465.jpg

Beverly
07-25-2004, 09:45 PM
Welcome, Jesse :smile:

Richer
07-25-2004, 10:12 PM
Welcome to the board :mrgreen:

If you're patient enough, keep an eye out on the buy/sell/trade section. There is usually someone around who needs to sell off some LR and whatnot... its how I got all of my LR and some of my equipement in my 30 gallon and it saved me a bundle.

-Richer

trilinearmipmap
07-25-2004, 10:29 PM
It's good to research ahead the way you have been doing, I'm sure you will do OK.

Stretch
07-25-2004, 11:01 PM
We have too many jesse's now :razz: