PDA

View Full Version : Coast to coast overflow hampers wave?

banditpowdercoat
01-25-2014, 01:05 AM
So I've been playing with my WP-25's on my 150. Have one at either either end. Got a not bad wave, or so I thought. Today, doing some spot feeding and such, Sump return off, so the water level in DT down below the coast to coast overflow. And now I am getting like double the wave size. And seems more sway in tank. Wondering if I should block some of the overflow off??? Maybe make it in 3 sections or I dunno, just be happy with the littler wave LOL

asylumdown
01-26-2014, 06:25 AM
I'm no physics expert, but with the water level lower in the tank but the pumps at the same height, they'd be relatively closer to the surface, so to me that seems like you'd see more of a wave. Hopefully someone who actually knows the physics of liquids will chime in and tell me I'm an idiot, but when you've got a powerhead angled horizontal to the plane of gravity under 7 or 8 inches of water, you barely see any surface disturbance, but when that power head is only 2 or 3 inches below the surface of water, the surface turbulence is enough to create splashing.

I also know with a standing wave the whole mass of water is moving, but I still feel like the total mass of the water in your tank, relative to the output of your powerheads, will affect the kind of wave you develop. With less water in your tank, it seems like it would be easier for the powerbeads to create a bigger wave.

The C2C is probably affecting it somewhat, because as water flows over it, it's also taking some amount of kinetic energy from your wave with it, but any overflow will likely do that.

Not sure which of those things contributes more to what you're seeing, or if it's something else completely and I just don't know what I'm talking about.

Slick Fork
01-26-2014, 06:42 AM