PDA

View Full Version : What Salt Do You Use?

straightrazorguy
12-18-2013, 11:12 PM
Hello Vancouver fellow reefers! I am fairly new to reefing (my tank is only 1 yr old), and have had Ok results with corals. I have been using IO salt from King Ed, because...ahem...I'm cheap!

I don't want my salt to be a limiting factor in my coral growth. I also read on lots of praise of Tropic Marin Pro salt, but it's not available locally. What do you, local reefers use? And where do you buy it?

Wheelman76
12-18-2013, 11:17 PM
I would start a poll on which salt everyone uses , I don't think we have had one of those yet on Canreef

Wheelman76
12-18-2013, 11:19 PM
In all seriousness though , use the search and I'm sure you will find plenty of opinions on this subject.

Aquattro
12-18-2013, 11:24 PM
I would start a poll on which salt everyone uses , I don't think we have had one of those yet on Canreef

I think I just heard Bill explode -lol

Wheelman76
12-18-2013, 11:33 PM
Lol

straightrazorguy
12-18-2013, 11:36 PM
In all seriousness though , use the search and I'm sure you will find plenty of opinions on this subject.

I actually did, and came up empty-handed. I got lots of opinions on Reef Central and other forums. I'd just like to know what local reefers use...

Aquattro
12-18-2013, 11:41 PM
Local reefers mostly use IO from King Ed's because it's cheap. It's a decent salt, all the polls we have here show at least 50% of people use it. Nothing wrong with it, maybe a bit low in some things on some days. Test each bucket for baseline levels, manufacturer's tolerances are wide :)

Aquattro
12-18-2013, 11:42 PM
Here are some threads on salt polls

http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/search.php?searchid=2899678

Magickiwi
12-18-2013, 11:48 PM
Ya you inadvertently stepped on a pile of poop when you asked that question. It's a topic that seems to get brought up a few times a month :) And occasionally as a poll

straightrazorguy
12-19-2013, 12:14 AM