PDA

View Full Version : Does Anything Eat Hard Algae On the Glass?

LeanneP
11-21-2013, 02:58 AM
I started getting a bright green algae a few months ago that doesn't come off with the magnet. I have to scrap it off with a razor blade and I can't reach the back of the tank. It looks like crap. Are there a certain kind of snail that likes that algae? I have a tuxedo urchin but he is not cutting it.
Leanne

gregzz4
11-21-2013, 03:11 AM
Post a pic ?

LeanneP
11-21-2013, 03:27 AM
Here is a picture of the algae.

gregzz4
11-21-2013, 03:32 AM
I can't see much in the pic, but I'm no algae expert anyway
If you used something such as Photobucket, it would be twice as many pixels and maybe easier for someone to identify :wink:

LeanneP
11-21-2013, 03:49 AM
There is really no texture to it. It is just green, grows on the glass and won't come off with a magnet. It grows like a green film that is hard.

intarsiabox
11-21-2013, 04:10 AM
Urchins would probably eat it.

monocus
11-21-2013, 05:22 AM
it;s a type of Coraline .i have it as well,but my urchins wont touch it.i just take it off with a scraper and my fish go nuts and eat it

spit.fire
11-21-2013, 06:26 AM
a razor blade or a credit card will eat it up real quick

lastlight
11-21-2013, 06:50 AM
Easy blade will work wonders on it if you can fit your magnet scraper into that area.

http://www.reefsupplies.ca/online-store/Easy-Blade-scraper-attachment-for-magfloa-t125.html

LeanneP
11-21-2013, 07:06 AM
Thanks Brett. That is exactly what I need since it at the back of the tank where I can't reach it. Ordering one tomorrow.
Easy blade will work wonders on it if you can fit your magnet scraper into that area.

http://www.reefsupplies.ca/online-store/Easy-Blade-scraper-attachment-for-magfloa-t125.html

lastlight
11-21-2013, 07:17 AM