PDA

View Full Version : pH dropping -hello winter

Treebeard
11-05-2013, 05:51 PM
Since the weather turned for hell here a few days ago, and my windows are closed most of the time my pH has been hanging 7.7-7.9. I realize that this likely a seasonal issue and I never was even aware of it until now, but thanks to my Apex, now I know. I am wondering if I should be concerned about it and doing something to raise it?

Magickiwi
11-05-2013, 05:57 PM
I use Seachem reef buffer to manage my pH levels. If I drop below 8 I will adjust up but normally I let it swing between 8.1-8.3.

I would say yes compensate slowly but I am relatively new to marine tanks.

Seriak
11-05-2013, 06:31 PM
Yeah I am interested in this as well.

You can run the air intake from your skimmer outside or use soda lime to absorb excess CO2, I usually don't do anything.

Treebeard
11-05-2013, 06:39 PM
Yeah I am interested in this as well.

..... I usually don't do anything.

That's what the lazy part of me (98%) was leaning towards. Either that or go purchase a few hundred dollars worth of high tech gadgetry to solve a problem that probably doesn't really exist.

Delphinus
11-05-2013, 07:12 PM
FWIW, the 9 months of winter we get around here is usually when my tank does its best, despite that I probably have the windows open much less of the time.

My guess is as long as you have good ventilation overall, it's probably not a huge concern.

Aquattro
11-05-2013, 07:35 PM
I would disconnect the probe for the winter, problem solved.

Delphinus
11-05-2013, 08:15 PM
pH is a little like describing a musical concert by telling you which was the average note played by all the instruments all evening.

Magickiwi
11-05-2013, 08:57 PM
So what you guys are saying is that it is useless to monitor or adjust for pH values?

Aquattro
11-05-2013, 09:18 PM
So what you guys are saying is that it is useless to monitor or adjust for pH values?