PDA

View Full Version : Mixing Saltwater and getting it back into your tank....

Simmy
10-24-2013, 05:17 PM
Hi there, I'm new to reefing....been lurking for a few weeks.

What equipment do you use to mix saltwater? Do you simply just add the salt to a bucket of water and "stir" or are you using a powerhead or circulation pump to mix it all up? How do you get the water back into your tank if you are mixing up a large batch of water too?

Do you have recommendations on what equipment to use? I read that the Maxi-Jets are 3 in 1 pumps that could be useful for this?

Comments suggestions?

Slyguy00
10-24-2013, 05:30 PM
Theres lots of ways to do it. I personally just add my water to my 5 gallon bucket, then add my salt, stir for a few minutes then let it sit for 8 hours, or a day. Make sure your p.H is correct and your temp, then just gradually start adding water to your tank. If im doing a bigger batch of water I just use more buckets. Thats how I do it anyways, I dont find the need to use a powerhead to mix it up.

Dearth
10-24-2013, 05:43 PM
I mix a batch in a 40 gallon brute garbage can on a dolly and use a power head to mix I leave it going all the time. I don't use a heater to maintain temp just room temperature

The Guy
10-24-2013, 05:59 PM
I mix ro water and the salt in a 25 gallon barrel I have, you can use a power head or whatever you have to mix it. I usually put a 150 watt heater in with it while it's mixing. After it's well mixed at the temp. you want add it to your system. My tank is 90g with a 50 g sump so I figure I have approx. 100 gallons of water when you figure the rock displacement and the fact the sump is running half full.
I shut off my return pump, then suction out of all but a couple of inches water and detris I can, then all my new water goes into the sump. Been doing it this way since set up as advised by friends that were already into reefing. Seems to work well with no ill effects. Maybe others can chime in on how they do water changes.